We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plentiful, yummy food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Off The Hook

Off The Hook
Lordship Boulevard, Stratford, CT 06615
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 131 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plentiful, yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stopped in for a quick dinner one night after work. Hubby & I shared a large bowl of soup and had HUGE sandwiches (pastrami for me, pork for him). Half went home for lunch the next day!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Off the Hook, The wife and I shared a huge bowl of Clam Chowder, served with homemade bread it was delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went after work for a quick dinner. First let me say the service is great, while the place was a little cold the night we went, was below zero out. We had the clam chowder with was excellent. I had a roast pork sandwich it was enormous. Served on the home made bread and pile high with porketta, onion, peppers and cheese. served with fries. Hazel had a grilled pastrami which was also biggger than our appeities. We took half our sandwiches home for lunch the next day.

A co- owrker of mine Bryan said the place was great, his sister Erin, use to work with us, who is now the head bar keep at On the Hook. The prices were good, Hazel had a glass of wine.

The service was great and food is worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pizza, above average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a small very casual place that is fun for a drink and a bite- depending on if you can get a seat. The pizza is so good, i always leave thinking about the next time I am going to be back. Although the outdoor area is nice, it looks over ferry Blvd, which really has nothing going for it. Prices are on point with decent quality overall. Service is average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food and service are good. the prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is casual and relaxed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Love the clam pizza. Has whole clams with shells, as well as plenty of clams on the pizza. Enjoyed the clam chowder and mussels marinara. Very generous portions. Love the homemade bread. I have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Great staff and atmosphere. Everyone is there to please the customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Hook also viewed

 

Been to Off The Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off The Hook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.