We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ice cream shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goody Bassett's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Shoppe

Goody Bassett's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Shoppe
2404 Main Street, Stratford, CT 06615
203-377-0417
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 131 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice ice cream shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Owner very nice and friendly. Gave us information about the area and history about his ice cream shop. Delicious ice cream and worth a trip to see the cute store .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost afraid to share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am afraid to sing the praises of this place because the lines are so bad in the summertime as is. I am slowly working my way through all the different flavors. I am currently stuck on Mint Oreo ice cream...SIGH!!! Now they added fudge...Are they trying to kill me?
All joking aside, the ice cream is great and the price is good! Now I have let you in on my secret but don't tell anyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Keeping it Kool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fantastic REAL lce Cream, the way we all remember it to be in our minds, even if it was not originally this good. Service is good, location is right in the center near a walk to several restaurants and a live theater and mom and pop shopping.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mom & Pop ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We love mom & pop shops. Good ice cream and varieties. Guy behind the counter is always cranky and sarcastic but if you can past his bedside manner, good ice cream.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great icecream, numerous flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A good ole fashioned ice cream shop. Many many flavors, appropriate prices and friendly staff. Ample parking available, many nearby restaurants. You wont be disappointed...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goody Bassett's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Goody Bassett's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goody Bassett's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.