We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Chic in Downtown Storrs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geno's Grille

Geno's Grille
9 Dog Lane, Storrs, Mansfield, CT
860-487-9032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Storrs
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Geno's Grille is proud to be a part of the newly crafted Storrs Center located steps from the University of Connecticut campus. With indoor and outdoor seating for over 100 people and a menu featuring varied American fare, Geno's Grille is the perfect gathering spot that combines family, friends, food and fun.
Restaurant details
Description: Geno's Grille is proud to be a part of the newly crafted Storrs Center located steps from the University of Connecticut campus. With indoor and outdoor seating for over 100 people and a menu featuring varied American fare, Geno's Grille is the perfect gathering spot that combines family, friends, food and fun.
Storrs, CT
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Urban Chic in Downtown Storrs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The atmosphere is upscale urban...I don't feel like I am in Storrs anymore.
The food is well crafted with some of Geno's family recipes included. The plates are well presented, and the service is by young but attentive college students.
An unusual mix of entre selections will keep me coming back.
The need a happy hour beverage and snack menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Champion of Italian dining, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

On my first visit to Geno's, I was impressed immediately as I walked into the restaurant. It is a welcoming atmosphere with the host greeting you promptly. Clean, comfortable and friendly. I met my friend there and we ordered a glass of wine each while we looked over the menu. We decided to order appetizers to share. We had the Calamari, the meatballs, and a Crostini dish. From presentation to taste, it was all divine. The calamari was fried delicately and crispy, accompanied by garlic aioli. The meatballs were large and just melt in your mouth delicious. I am so fussy about trying meatballs anywhere! I just knew these would be top notch, and they are. The Crostini had prosciutto, fava beans, olive oil, shaved parmesan and mint. I look forward to returning and I plan to try everything on that menu eventually. Tutti e buon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Champion in Storrs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Geno's Grille. The service staff was engaging and knowledeable. The food was perfect. Lunch portions were just enough. The meatballs were better than grandma's. A nice selection of wines and many beer favorites on tap, as well as in bottles. Looking forward to another trip to Storrs

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Finally some great good in Storrs!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a pleasure to eat at this new restaurant in Storrs right near UConn. Tasty Italian in an upbeat setting. Good sized portions. I had Bronzino fish with potatoes and asparagus. Husband had shrimp and mussels in a delicious sauce. Friend had great gnocchi. Absolutely enormous chocolate cake, tasty panne cotta and great tiramisu. Reasonable prices and nice help staff. Could become an institution.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geno's Grille also viewed

 

Been to Geno's Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geno's Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.