We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out Broadway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts
2132 Hillside Road, Unit 3104, University of Connecticut, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06269-3104
860 486 4226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Storrs
Type: Theaters, Cultural
Attraction details
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Watch out Broadway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have seen many shows at Jorgensen, the most recent was "Man of Lamancha." The costumes, singing, and dancing were fabulous and I can't even imagine the barber or the man servant without bursting out in gales of laughter. The thing is, most of their shows are this way. The calibur of their performances is second to none. My kids (16 yrs and 22 yrs) are always inquiring as to which show we will see next. They absolutely love it. The price is reasonable so a family can go and enjoy the theater, especially if they watch out for local coupons and deals that come out every so often.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Didn't think I'd find anything to fill the void of leaving Broadway behind when I moved to northeastern CT from northern NJ. But, the Jorgenson puts on such high caliber shows, it surprised and pleased me. Urinetown w/ Andrea McArdle, My Fair Lady w/ Terrence Mann and Bernadette Peters one woman show to name a few. A must for theater lovers.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Two theaters in one building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you like plays and musicals the Connecticut Repertory Theater is on the lower level. They put on shows with mostly UCONN theater majors. If you like world music, dance, comedy and all types of other theater the Jorgensen Theater always has a show during the school session. I go regularly to the cabaret shows.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great venue for plays/shows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy the Jorgensen center. Price of shows are reasonable. Clean facility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great variety of show at good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Jorgensen has been entertaining those of us in NE CT for many, many years! Variety, excellence, fairly affordable and convenient! The new look is fabulous after renovations. We only wish we could go more in our retirement!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.