We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonington Vineyards

Stonington Vineyards
523 Taugwonk Road, Stonington, CT
860-535-1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Stonington
Type: Art Galleries, Wineries, Shopping
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Grandville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For Connecticut, this winery was quite nice. They were still putting final touches on their new addition and working out the kinks. I think that this will improve It was not too far from Mystic. It was one of 3 that we went to on the same day. It was a nice way to start off an afternoon of wine tasting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilmington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Maybe just because they are doing work?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Cramped, not cozy, no where to sit outside, a few tables inside, not great wine.
Maybe just because they are in the midst of doing outside work, this was a flop for our group of 7 women, I hope they finish the updating soon or it really won;t be worth the trouble.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“I don't like paying for tastings!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Coming from Australia, the concept of paying for wine tasting when visiting vineyards just doesn't work for me. To charge US$12.00 for 6 mouthfuls of 6 different wines really irks me! Especially when 4 of the wines were poor and only 2 were good. The unoaked Chardonnay and the Riesling were very good, the rest were pure trash. But compared to wines from Australia, New Zealand, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Canada, west coast USA or Hungary....... Connecticut wines just don't compare and yet they are still well over US$20 for a bottle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice vineyard - excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend's and I traveled here to celebrate our friend's 30th birthday. We each did a wine tasting that included 6 different wines (pretty standard). The wine is very similar to other CT wines found throughout the state. We loved the guy who poured us the wine - he was very personable and talkative. He gave us great suggestions and explained the wine in detail. At some vineyards you get people who either don't know anything about the wine (I've had workers say they don't like wine) or people who are a little rude, but at Stonington we found good service. The place is doing some renovations outside, but they still have their deck and gazebo open. We brought a variety of food to enjoy with a bottle of wine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wine was very good, excellent and personable workers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This winery is down a long road (that is not paved).

The girl that hosted the tasting was very nice and personable. We really enjoyed spending time with her.

It is our understanding that the winery will be undergoing major renovations during this off season. The renovations will make this place even better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonington Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Stonington Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonington Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.