We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place for your New England experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Another Second Penny Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Another Second Penny Inn
Save
You added Another Second Penny Inn to your Saves list
870 Pequot Trail, Stonington, CT 06378-2234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“This is THE place for your New England experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We begin each holiday season with a trip to New England and a stay at Another Second Penny Inn. It's been a tradition with our family for more than five years now. The Inn and surrounding grounds are beautiful, welcoming and comfortable. The breakfasts are creative and delicious and it is easy to see why they have been reviewed so highly. The hosts, Jim and Sandra, are delightful. They know the area and its history and are able to give recommendations of where to go, where to eat and what to see.
Retiring to our quiet room with a warm fire is the ultimate way to relax on a vacation day and we always know our room will be clean, comfortable and cozy. We would suggest that anyone planning a trip to the area call Another Second Penny Inn and check their availability and, if at all possible, stay there! We already know we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motza Ilit
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I do not have too much to add in regard to the B&B itself. The location is great and the place is quite nice and comfortable. A bit more attention to cleaning would certainly help – there was a fairly thick layer of grime on the top of the window frames and a clean room is something that we expect.
I do have a major complaint about attitude. We ordered a “bag breakfast” because we do not appreciate huge meals in the morning. I take this to be our prerogative. We received exactly what is listed on the Another Second Penny Inn website. But when we asked to eat breakfast in their lovely dining room, we were told we had a picnic basket in our room. We were really not in the mood for an October picnic so we persevered and Sandra finally consented. When we asked for drinking glasses for our juice she suggested we use the straws attached to the cartons. The next day we brought our picnic basket with us to the dining room – to be on the safe side.
This attitude has no place in a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strlght, Owner at Another Second Penny Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
We believe there may have been a language or cultural misunderstanding with our Israeli guests. They chose our Budget B&B option when they booked their room. This option allows guests to save a bit of money by giving up some of the amenities that don't appeal to them (custom toiletries, complimentary soft drinks, full breakfast, etc.) The Budget B&B option does NOT include breakfast service in our dining room.

Sandra erred in trying to accommodate them in the dining room and failed to communicate that they had not paid for table service. Dishes are provided in each guest room and most guests with the Budget option either eat in their rooms or take the breakfast with them as they get an early start on their day.

These guests helped themselves to china plates from the dining room each evening (even though they had plates in their room), requested an extra glass to put their toothbrushes in (even though they had two glasses already, neither of which was ever used during their two night stay), knocked on the door of the innkeepers' quarters at 7:30 p.m. to ask us to heat up some pizza for them, etc. We bent over backwards to accommodate their requests throughout their stay. We included our thick terrycloth bathrobes in their room, thinking that coming from Israel they might find New England cool in October, even though that was something they had chosen not to pay for.

We're sorry that our innkeeping was not up to their standards and grateful that our other guests enjoy their stay here. 99% of B&B guests are absolutely wonderful, generous, considerate people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed Halloween weekend. We were very happy with the accomodations & the inn keepers couldn't have been nicer. Their cat Hobo made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Russell Suite & used the gas fireplace & the claw footed Whirlpool bathtub. The 5 course breakfast was truly "to die for". We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I returned for our second visit bringing along my sister from out of state. Everything was wonderful once again. The last time we stayed it was springtime (last year), this year we chose the fall and the weather was great and the foliage was just starting to peak. We can't praise the Inn or it's "keepers" enough! Next year we'll have to try the summer!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artsfusion
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This inn is right off of I-95 but feels like it is in another world. Historic and beautiful with welcoming hosts and a breakfast to die for! Our stay was the centerpiece of a fantastic trip and we know we will be back again and again. We will tell friends and family visiting the area that this is THE place to stay. There is plenty to do in the area but frankly, with the rooms as cozy as they are, some may not ever want to leave!

(I left another review a day or so ago and by mistake rated it a 1 of 5 in all areas, instead of 5 of 5. This was a mistake. Our stay was wonderful and everything was perfect! (I am trying to remove the other review so it does not reflect poorly on this delightful inn))

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My husband & I spent 2 wonderful nights 04/17/09 & 04/18/09 celebrating our anniversary. Everything was perfect, great innkeepers, friendly pets, fantastic breakfasts and wonderful weather. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

My wife and I were more then pleased with our visit and even booked our next stay before leaving. Our suite was clean, comfortable and charming with a fire place, luxurous linens and a giant bathroom which included a large jetted clawfoot tub.The breakfasts Sandra made were simply amazing and a better then any B&B meals we've ever had. We really enjoyed our stay and intend to visit on a regular basis. Highly recommended!! A++++

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Another Second Penny Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Second Penny Inn

Address: 870 Pequot Trail, Stonington, CT 06378-2234
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you have two pennies, with the first buy bread and with the second buy hyacinths for your soul. Our 1710 colonial home offers three spacious guestrooms in a quiet country setting near the heart of Mystic. Enjoy the warm elegance of 300 years of history; our 5-course breakfast has been voted "Best in New England". Shops and restaurants of historic Mystic, Stonington Borough, the Aquarium, and Mystic Seaport are a five minute drive away. AAA 3 Diamonds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Another Second Penny Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.