We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Go-to Place for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonington Pizza Palace

Stonington Pizza Palace
530 Stonington Rd Ste 100, Stonington, CT 06378
860-535-0886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Stonington
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Dine-in and takeout service since 1986 offering pizza, pasta, grinders, salads, fresh seafood, Greek food, gyros as well as beer and wine.
Restaurant details
Description: Dine-in and takeout service since 1986 offering pizza, pasta, grinders, salads, fresh seafood, Greek food, gyros as well as beer and wine.
Stonington, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Go-to Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stonington Pizza Palace is your classic little pizza restaurant with five or six booths and a lunch counter that is always packed. They're expanding in January. :-) We find the best time to go to be seated quickly at a booth is between 1:30 and 3:30 PM. My husband and I are there every weekend he's in town, as we take a break from our "to-do list" at home. I'm not a pizza lover but they're Mediterranean pizza makes me take it back every time. They Aggie Special is to die for (linguine, broiled chicken, fresh greens) and is named for Mrs. Owner. Mr. Owner is Angelo and he makes you feel like family when you walk in, as does everyone at this place. Living in New England, we eat at many eateries that offer local seafood, but no one nails the scallops the way Stonington Pizza does. If you go in the evening, expect a line, but don't leave! The wait is well worth it. They offer beer and wine, soft drinks that you grab from the cooler. We take our four-year-old grandson for lunch once a month or so and he loves Briana and getting his own mini pizza. If they're offering the Greek Lemon Chicken soup, ask for a cup (or bowl). It's my husband's favorite. The burger is to die for.... I've never eaten a burger that juicy, that delicious. Highly recommend this place. The price is right. The food is fabulous.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Take Out/ Eat In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We live nearby and depend on take out for pizza, really good fresh, crisp salads, and complete meals especially Stonington scallops over either pasta and vegetables or roasted vegetables. Great pasta dishes, grinders and fish sandwiches. Ample servings at very good prices. Wine & beer. You can find low calorie/low fat choices. In house, the several booths and counter space are usually occupied on weekends evenings, but the restaurant plans to expand into an adjacent space vacated by a relocating bank branch.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spaghetti Pie - oh my the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Never had a spaghetti pizza before but our friends insisted we try it and no better place than Stonington Pizza Palace. It was simply to die for. Ground beef and sauce as the first layer then pizza, ricotta and mozzarella was worth every calorie (and then sum). Service was awesome and so much fun. She dished as well as she took it and it made for a very enjoyable meal. After having the pizza and salad I definitely can't wait to go back and try other items. Can't wait.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not just for Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This restaurant has good pizza, but their other dishes are equally great. Stonington is known for its scallops, and Stonington Pizza Palace serves excellent ones and reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington,CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Wonderful pizza. Fresh salads. A weekend and everyday favorite. They have the standard pizza shop menu with a Greek twist, and some hidden gourmet entrees. The salmon entrees are excellent, especially the salmon on their field green salad. We usually get take out three times a month or more.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonington Pizza Palace also viewed

 

Been to Stonington Pizza Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonington Pizza Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.