We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday afternoon wine tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Farm Vineyard

Saltwater Farm Vineyard
349 Elm Street, Stonington, CT 06378
(860) 415-9072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Stonington
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
South Orange, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We adored our afternoon in the vineyard - delicious wine, magnificent setting! An amazing former air strip - the grass landing fields are still in evidence! Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Haddam, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing day off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I recently traveled on a Sunday to this vineyard with my husband, 2 young boys, and my dog. We were greeted in the parking lot and pleasantry directed by the owner to the patio, where the manager, Paul, gave us a tasting (because we had the dog and couldn't go inside). I wasn't made to feel like I was imposing, or being rushed. Everyone was so very nice and accommodating. The wines were nice as well(not the best I've tasted, but for the East Coast they are pretty good). The hospitality is what will keep me coming back year after year!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vineyard with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This vineyard is in such a lovely setting, by the water, in what used to be an airport. The old hangar was remodeled keeping some of the original building pieces. A crew that makes you feel right at home. Many weddings are held here now, it has become that popular and loved. The wine is good, you should go there!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Go for the View.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This would be a great wedding venue. The building is an old plane hanger. Very cool. The wines leave some to be desired, though. We might have had a bad experience, but the rose tastes a but vinegar-y. The other wines were decent.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite CT Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Friendly owners, staff and beautiful location. Wine is great too!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Farm Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Saltwater Farm Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Farm Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saltwater Farm Vineyard to your Saves list