We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Watch Cafe

Dog Watch Cafe
194 Water Street, Dodson Boatyard, Stonington, CT 06378
860-415-4510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Stonington
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Coastal Ct
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“First time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stopped here by chance looking for a nice place with a water view for lunch. We ended up splitting a fish & chip dinner along with a bowl of chowder. Both of our selections were very good and the house wine was a good selection. The water views are an added benefit of dining here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    100
    32
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed and fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Sitting overlooking the water at the Dog Watch Cafe, having drinks and eating with good friends...couldn't ask for a much better day. The atmosphere is easy going and the view is perfect. I was impressed by the food and our friendly, attentive server. This is a great place to share an afternoon or evenings with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We live in Stonington and always enjoy the Dog Watch Cafe whatever the season. Great food, atmosphere, setting--and lots of fun. We also love The Dog Pound for drinks outside during the summer--just wish they served food out there, too. The only negative is the new bartender, Joe. The last few times we been at the bar the service was slow and inattentive. Most recently, we even had to wait until Joe finished texting for a few minutes before he got around to serving us. Would like to see a new bartender. Otherwise, it's a great place for food and drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent place to go anytime of the year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

we are regulars at dog watch!!! we alway had Erin serve us because she was awesome. then she left and Becky became our number one person.. we can't settle for any other server. we will wait for Becky anything because she knows how to treat people!! Very kind and outgoing !! we get great service and food here ! never had a bad experience! now joe is the new bartender and he's awesome!! knows how to make his drinks well and has a great personality!!! summer time is awesome when the back bar is open ... we love watching the sunsets! you can never go wrong at dog watch they have thebest staff there!!! Dave made wise choices :-)! great owners =great staff!!!! we are there once a week to see Becky or Joe. The blonde greeter is always so sweet too!!! it's great being there French because they treat you like family even before they knew who we were too!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a great treat..We will be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The only negative aspect of the night was walking in at the receptionist desk. It is tiny and where you stand is a high traffic area, where waitstaff and customers were walking in and out. The hostess was so sweet and even on a busy Saturday night, sat us immediately. Our server was just as nice and attentive. We had scallops and bacon, with a maple sauce. It was just the right amount of salty and sweet and the bacon was real crisp. For dinner I had tuna tartare which was plentiful, fresh and tasty. My husband had an open faced steak "dogwich" which was just as satisfying. The french fries were super crispy. They had a nice wine and cocktail list as well as great array of desserts. Overall, a wonderful local experience. Thank you. Oh by the way.. The location is STUNNING......i loved that people could sit outside around a fire pit in the front..So neat..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Watch Cafe also viewed

 
Stonington, CT
Stonington, CT
 

Been to Dog Watch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Watch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.