We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   812 Stonington Road, Stonington, CT 06378 (Formerly Sea Breeze Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a good place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The room was damp and smelled of mold. There were no amenities at all. Do not stay there. Most of the staff did not speak english. If I had known about this before we booked on travelocity I would not have chosen this hotel. The AC fluctuated constantly and could not rid the room of the dampness. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dustin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We do know that our property had a history of dampness being so close to the water, and were actively trying to rid the problem. You will be delighted to know that last winter we had a basement specialist come to assess our problem and they have taken care of all mustiness in our rooms. We couldn't be happier! Being so close to the water always has some side affects, but we can assure you this longtime problem has finally been solved! We would like you to come visit us when passing through and you can see for yourself how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Attleboro
Level Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We checked in and went to our room to find a musty smelling room, two airconditioners one of which didn't work, cracked paint, dreadful decorations and mold on the walls. It was reasonably clean as a positive but not worth the $$ as I have stayed in motels at the same price range that included breakfast! Just don't bother.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank REDCAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
As you can see by our responses to the other reviews, we have taken care of the musty odor. We have never had mold in our bathrooms. We did, however, instruct all of our housekeepers to check our guest bathrooms thoroughly. It is extremely important that we make all of our guests happy and want to see you return. There is never an excuse for anything less than perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stonington hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here, I repeat. DO NOT STAY HERE. The smell was atrocious. We had to keep the windows open, air conditioning on, bathroom exhaust on, to try and get rid of the smell.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvistonington, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so sorry you had to go through that to get fresh air. We have completely corrected the must odor problem! We would love for you to come and see for yourself how fresh the rooms are now! We are also working on several other upgrades and will keep doing so to keep our property at it's best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a relaxing brief trip while visiting relatives in another part of the state. The inn was convenient to golf and the casino. The room was clean and comfortable. While breakfast was ok, the setting was relaxing It was a bit irritating that I had to ask for more coffee and not able to serve myself. It was great that there was an exercise room as well as walking distance to the beach.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I think they have really changed and improved the hotel , this was my second visit and my previous visit was not so great and I wasn't planning a second visit but I had to for personal reasons. They changed the hotel a lot the bathroom is suprisingly clean and the beds are actually comfortable. I would surly recommend this hotel and IRS a nice place to really go when your away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pink s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family and I booked two rooms on New Year's Eve to save a lot of money while visiting Foxwoods casino. I booked the room without reading the reviews.
Upon reading the reviews, I was mortified. I wondered if I should cut my losses and just book a different hotel, but I had hope because some reviews said it really wasn't that bad.
We stayed there anyway. The hotel is not in a bad part of town. It's actually in the middle of nowhere and we would have never found it if not for the GPS. The outside was not extremely well lit, and the appearance was average. The clerk was not anything special. He asked me for my credit card info, which I had already entered online. When I told him that, he looked through some paperwork and I saw my entire card number on the paper (which I'm pretty sure is illegal). He gave me the old fashioned room keys and sent us on our way.
The two rooms I booked together were as far away as they could possibly be. But oh well.
Upon entering the room, it was about 30 degrees colder than the outside temp, but we got the heater going in good time. The room was extremely old and run down. The carpets were stained and all electrical outlets and windows were all painted over. It was hard to find an outlet that worked. The TV was definitely 13", but it didn't work so it really didn't matter. There was a microwave and small fridge, but that really didn't matter because They weren't near the working outlet.
Oh, and the smell. It was pretty strong. It smelled like they were keeping billy goats in the next room, but I have no evidence to back that up. The bathroom was very outdated and the faucet and toilet were loose. Before I would have a seat on the John, I would have to say a little prayer that the toilet wasn't going to fall through the floor. The shower was a stall shower and the water was hot and the water pressure was real good too. The hair dryer on the wall looked like it came over on the mayflower, and I would not suggest using it.
The beds were surprisingly comfortable, the bedspreads were questionable, and the sheets were nice and surprisingly clean. There were only two pillows, and I dared not ask for any more.
We did not spend much time at the room, as we stayed at the casino until early morning. We slept in until about 9 am or so the next day. Upon leaving the room, the not-so-friendly maid took my key and her counterpart who did not speak English, grunted and motioned to my hubby, demanding to bum a cigarette.
The moral of my story: you get what you pay for. If every hotel in proximity of a tourist destination is $250++ per night and you find one for $100 per night, beware. We only needed the room to sleep and shower, so it definitely did the trick. I definitely won't be making a return trip to the Seabreeze America's best inn!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jims_auto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is not a place that I would recommend to anyone. We asked for a bath and the plugs didn't work. The blankets were torn. It was really expensive and the only redeeming feature was its proximity to Stonington which was a beautiful place and we had a lovely meal at the Dock.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Velohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.7 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#8 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
6.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic

Address: 812 Stonington Road, Stonington, CT 06378 (Formerly Sea Breeze Inn)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic. We are located on Route 1, only four miles from Mystic attractions and ten miles from Rhode Island. While staying with us be sure to visit the Old Lighthouse Museum, Mystic Aquarium, and Mystic Seaport Museum. Relax with a day at the Misquamicut State Beaches, Historic Stonington Village, or Old Mystic Village. Gamblers can try their hand at Foxwoods Resort Casino or the Mohegan Sun Casino. Connecticut College is also nearby. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants including the Dog Watch Cafe, Skipper's Dock, and A Taste of India. Come enjoy our quiet and convenient location and pay less than at other Mystic area hotels. We are a 100 percent smoke free hotel offering affordable rates, comfortable accommodations, and a friendly front desk staff to help you feel at home. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our guest rooms and lobby. Take advantage of our business center with fax and copy capabilities. Spend some quality family time outside in our picnic area. Step into the privacy of your own large guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, clock radio, iron, ironing board, and free local calls. Sorry, no pets allowed. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Stonington
Sea Breeze Hotel Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing