We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much for too little” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lighthouse Museum

Old Lighthouse Museum
Stonington, CT
860-535-1440
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Stonington
Type: Specialty Museums, Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to whaling, sealing and farming as it was hundreds of years ago in Stonington.
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Too much for too little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Too much money, not enough lighthouse! It is a neat lighthouse but the museum is small and it isn't worth $9.00. To be sure, the $9.00 does admit you to a historic home also, but there was no way we could make it to the house (which is a driveable distance away) that day, which I am sure happens to most people. If you want to get your money's worth plan to see both things and go earlier in the day. It doesn't take long to see the lighthouse but if you go there first, you will want to stay in Stonington to eat or shop of wander the picturesque streets, so you won't have time to see the house. Plan accordingly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not intriguing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Once we got here (which included taking very narrow, 2-way streets) we did not even feel that it was worth paying $9/adult to see what was inside. As much as I love lighthouses, I couldn't care less about the museum portion. We just peered around the building from the outside and I took some pictures of it, and of the waterfront.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“The view is delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It might be against the normal rules to list this as we did not go into the museum, mainly because we were already behind schedule en route from NH to New York and our primary interest was scenic photography. Perhaps if had not been $9 per person we would have gone in for a few minutes.
The village of Stonington, the lighthouse and the shore are all very picturesque and well worth the little trip from Mystic to see it. And it is just off i-95.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing what you learn and see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This small looking light house is full it;s history of protecting Stonington from harm you can climb to the top of the light house to look out and can see so much of the water and coastline. a special note because the light house is preserved the way it was back in time the stairs turn into a fire escape type step later to go into the high ocean view of the light house, However there is much to see a learn about in the rooms in the light house there are cases full of treasure bought back from all over in the many voyages the ships took to bring back gold and jewelery and amazing things! Some things that are not priceless or fragile you can actually touch and there are signs through out explaining what each thing is and what it was used for. there is even a small area that shows a real Victorian doll house and toys the children played with, A small gift area in front with some pricy items but also nice post cards, The grounds around the museum are just great and you can walk right down to the full view of the ocean, The tickets are also one might consider a bit pricy but that keeps this museum going and in the public's ability to tour and see these amazing things so that's more then enough for me

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Nice lighthouse but steep price for the museum...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nice lighthouse but the museum has a price of 9 dollars for a very small area. Worth a look but not the 9 dollars.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lighthouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Old Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lighthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Lighthouse Museum to your Saves list