We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19. Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel the first night of our motorcycle trip on the way to Florida. The Amsterdam had an attractive price at less than $100, was pet friendly and the reviews were ok. We found the hotel to be a bit run down but the staff was friendly. The parking garage is a plus and the close proximity of a convenience store is a plus as well. Our room was a good size with an easy chair. The bed unfortunately had a dirty mattress with stains and the pillows were flat. The walls are very thin. We could hear the conversation of the gentleman next door on his phone. The TV is old and needs updating. The hotel charges an extra $20 a night for a pet which is absurd for a dog that is less than 15 pounds. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    22
    15
    7
See reviews for
19
25
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Paid total of $230 for one night. Certainly overpriced, granted there were no other rooms available in Stamford that night. If I had paid less than $100 I would be less disappointed. Bed was hard and like sleeping on plastic, blankets thin, finger marks all over walls and you can hear straight through the walls. It's the standard I would expect from a motel/inn. Staff was pleasant, but no interest in how my stay was. Free continental breakfast and wifi a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Price was the main reason for choosing the Amsterdam. Room was very basic, but clean. Fridge/microwave was nice. Convenience store, pizza place, and deli all close. Not a a 5 star hotel by any means, but nicer than one would expect based on the price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for under $100/night, and great staff. Clean, comfortable, and I was glad they have a parking garage. I came earlier than check-in time, and the receptionist made sure my room was ready within 20 mins. To the previous guests who complained about minimal toiletries and continental breakfast...hey this isn't a 5 star hotel. You get why you paid for, and I think for the value the hotel is great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed here Sept. 2012 and highly recommend this hotel for people who want to be in a downtown location. This is a good spot located a short walking distance to fine dining, morning coffee and breakfast diners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel does not look flash on the outside, however the stay was great. Very good reception and we were offered the very reasonable Sunday night off peak tarrif without having to haggle. Very nice and helpful chap at reception. we were able to inspect our room before committing to taking it. The room was large, cean, tidy and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely stay. Breakfast was ample and fresh. Carparking was free and under security camera surveliance at reception. Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you are in doubt from the outside appearance, please just ask to view the rooms. They are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here at the Amsterdam Hotel for four days at the beginning of July. The weather was beastly hot, as were certain parts of the room. The wall air unit blew across the head of the bed so the top of my body was cool but the rest of the room maintained a temperature about 20 degrees hotter. The windows open part way, but I was a bit leery of them because they weren't really sealed into the window frame and I thought perhaps the glass window might fall out of the frame and crash into the parking lot below.

The Amsterdam is old and worn but clean and efficient. There are two elevators, one of which worked on and off during my stay. The breakfast room is nice. The lobby is open and airy. The shuttle service is handy. There are no restaurants in the immediate area other than fast food, but if you are up for a walk, you can get to the main part of the city within 10 mins. Enterprise rental cars are right next door so the hotel is quite handy to car rentals and Taco Bell and Walgreens. There isn't much in the immediate surrounds other than Ma and Pa convience stores and one off ethnic restaurants (peruvian, mexican, domincan) that didn't appear to be open when I was there.

The room had a microwave AND a fridge, both of which I needed/wanted in a hotel room. I would really have enjoyed a toaster and my room would have been complete. The room was not large, but it came but with the amenities needed to have a nuclear late night dinner or snack; a place to keep water and snacks cold, and a microwave to warm up what I wanted warm.

Don't look for luxury here, but it IS a clean, extended stay convenience hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stamford hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#1 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City
0.4 mi away
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 19. Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... The feeling you have when our dynamic team of friendly multi-cultural hosts welcomes you into a relaxed, European home-like setting in the midst of a busy downtown area of Stamford, Connecticut. Our Guest Rooms are spacious, comfortable and fully-equipped with convenient amenities at competitive prices. We are conveniently located in the downtown area with easy highway access and ample complimentary parking for cars, trucks and buses. Our complimentary shuttle escorts you downtown locations such as the Stamford Town Center , the public library and the Metro North/Amtrak train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.