We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Average Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center to your Saves list
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not Your Average Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I was surprised that this Hilton was not as nice as most Hiltons that I've stayed in. I think the hotel needed more staff members the weekend I was there. When I walked into the lobby, several tables had used plates and cups on them. Also, another table had an empty box just sitting on it, with liquid from whatever was previously in it leaking onto the table and floor. These items remained in the lobby for at least an hour. Hotel signage was not that great. It was hard to figure out where the non-express elevators were, and where the pool was. It took us over 15 minutes just to find the pool after asking a catering department employee for help. We were placed on one of the two executive floors, but our room was less than desirable. A large square hole in the wall next to the air conditioning unit was taped up. We were told the room didn't have wash cloths yet. The decor was stuffy and the furniture just didn't appear new or clean. Neither of the two phones worked. We were moved across the hall to a slightly better room. But this room didn't have hand towels, and we never received them. Despite requesting non-feather pillows, we had to get them ourselves from a housekeeping closet. More were finally brought in much much later. We were awoken in the middle of the night by blasting music that shook the walls. The first call tot he front desk accomplished nothing. The second call we were told that a security guard was dealing with something else and would attend to the music shortly. A third call we were told the music was not coming from inside the hotel, but a manager would go check the parking lot and surrounding area and call the police if necessary. He eventually visited our room to apologize. I'm still not sure where the music was coming from. The hotel is located in a small corporate park off Route 95. It's a short drive away from downtown Stamford, where there is a mall and many restaurants. We got the hotel super cheap on a travel discount website, which was one of the only redeeming qualities of our stay. Plus, the supposedly $10 parking was never charged. Either due to the weekend or broken ticket dispenser. The hotel was quite crowded due to a big MonaVie convention. There is a ton of meeting space at this Hilton. The hotel was decent for one night, but it just wasn't as modern, clean, or service-oriented as other Hiltons.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_anderson2, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Dear StickerShock,
We appreciate your comments, and apologize for the lapse in service regarding delivery of towels. Our Housekeeping team works hard to insure cleanliness throughout our property, and I will certainly use your experience to reinforce the importance of maintaining our high Hilton Standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    159
    131
    82
    50
See reviews for
112
97
49
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We got an incredibly low rate on Priceline. If we had pay more, this hotel would have been a total disappointment and would get 1 star instead of 2. The first room we were sent to was occupied, but fortunately the guests were friendly about being walked in. The second room had a large hole in the wall covered in tape and both phones did not work. The third was fine. There were trays of food left out all over the lobby, in the hall near our room, and in the executive lounge for many hours. I called down for pillows without feathers, and it required multiple calls and a 3 hour wait to get them. In the middle of the night, we were woken by very loud music at 2:30. I had to call down again a half hour later, and was told by the night manager that security was still addressing a different noise issue on a different floor. It took 40 minutes for them to come up to the room to investigate the source of the noise, and about another 10 minutes to take care of it. It was not a good night sleep by any measure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I obtained the room as a part of Pricelines name your own price deal, and I'm quite glad I did not pay full price from the room.

Location is not the best if you plan on walking around downtown Stamford, but there is a shuttle which is helpful. The lobby is impeccable and the desk staff friendly, but the rooms themselves were dated and in desparate need of general maintenance.

Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Checked into the hotel after flying early in the morning and working all day only to discover that the hotel wanted to move me to a non-Hilton property miles away (and farther from my work destination) because the facility was "overbooked" and the group guests took precedence. My reservation made weeks before and frequent guest Hhonors status apparently were of little import. I was shocked. After objections the hotel relented and here I am. Room is fine, with gold/green decor. Public areas are spotless. Executive lounge is well-appointed. Room service food is ordinary but quickly delivered. Garage is labyrinthian. Location is quiet and seems isolated from the city. Would stay again if I hadn't been met with such a cold-hearted rebuff. No way to welcome a guest!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Located in a business park, 7 mn walking distance from Stamford train station, and quite close to I-95. We were quite reluctant to book this hotel, fearing noise from trains and motorway. Strangely, it is quite calm. We heard no noise at all during the night.
During our 6 nights stay, staff was friendly and helpful. However sometimes, valet parking is a long wait, so we finally decided to opt for poorly-indicated self parking when we found out where it's located.
Our room was clean, large, with a good bathroom and LCD TV. However, no fridge and the safe was out of order. Bed was good.
We had a package with buffet breakfast included. That was a deal. buffet was nothing exceptional but pretty decent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel is in desperate need of a complete renovation. The common areas are in poor condition and the rooms are small and tired. The service was adequate, but not great. The location is OK if you have business at the office park of which the hotel is a part. It is also within about a block of the train station for Metro North. The larger area surrounding the hotel is pretty shabby -- you cannot walk anywhere. Hilton would probably be better off closing this property altogether and re-opening in a better part of Stamford.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_anderson2, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Mike,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. Our hotel was fully renovated in 2008, and we are centrally located and very close to the Amtrak station. We also provide shuttle service to local restaurants and shopping, which are also a short ride away. Many of our guests find this service exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

A nice place to stay. The rooms are clean, big plasma TV, plenty of outlets for (laptop, phone, etc.). Room service was quick and the food was good (try the Cobb salad). This is a great business hotel with an excellent staff. Enjoyed my couple of days as their guest. Only downside, the hotel nickels and dimes for everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_anderson2, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Dear HG13579,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We have great people, fantastc food, and continually strive to deliver outstanding service. Hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Address: 1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.