We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Stamford CT - Could have had a perfect 10....too bad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
1 review
“Hilton Stamford CT - Could have had a perfect 10....too bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall, each of the hotel employees we encountered were outstanding in their roles, beginning with the multiple Bellmen we encountered in our two day stay. Then there is Antoinette at the front desk (a great personality and smile). Samina and Ramdas in the restaurant were also outstanding in their respective customer service areas. These people are the type of people all Hotel owners should pattern their personnel recruitment after. The quality of the room (which means the housekeeping) was excellent. A special recognition to Samina in the restaurant for above and beyond service.

My one complaint: New England Clam Chowder for $11.00. It was on the menu without mention of serving size. I assumed I'd receive a decent bowl of soup for $11.00. Not! (6 ounces (maybe 6 ounces at best) in a tiny cup). Soup was good...but I'd value the serving at $2.50.

Again....My appreciation to all the staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A great hotel. Not a hotel you would feel comfortable walking to and from. The bellmen were great wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    137
    116
    72
    47
See reviews for
104
85
44
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived late in the evening and left fairly early, so we didn't have the chance to fully explore this hotel and its amenities. However, the service was fantastic, the check-in smooth and all the employees so helpful. There is a Starbucks onsite, which was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel last weekend (Sept 5-7th) and was amazed by the stellar customer service. From Domenick who greeted me when I got off the shuttle to Oreanna who greeted me in the lobby to Maria and Daren at the front desk to Abet at the restaurant who remembered my preferences from a previous stay months ago, I felt like I was at home. I think this hotel has a new manager. Whatever is the case, the hotel is firing on all cylinders. I had a smile on my face the entire stay.

Room Tip: This is a big hotel. I think it has the most number of rooms out of all the hotels in the area. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments about your stay at Hilton Stamford Hotel and Executive Meeting Center. It’s rewarding to hear that our fabulous customer service team made your stay more enjoyable. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have always stayed at the Marriot when we visit Stamford solely because tripadvisor rates it #2. This time we took advantage of a package rate and stayed here.

I don't know why the Hilton is #8. We stayed 5 nights on the executive floor in Room 1001. It was clean, modern and the mattress was a dream. The executive floor comes with breakfast which, if it is a weekday is small. But over the weekend you are given coupons for the buffet at the restaurant. Wow! It is huge. I only have fruit for breakfast so I bring a zip-loc bag and take away a bagel sandwich for later. Don't forget to tip accordingly.

The bad? Our room was at the far end of the hotel (but it was a corner room so who cares?). We had to walk !forever! to get from the elevator to our room. The entire hotel was refrigerated. It was like a meat locker! Talk about 'carbon footprint'. If you order room service remember they are tacking on 35% service fee.

I definitely recommend this hotel over the Marriot.

Room Tip: Rooms that are '01' are corner rooms (1001). They are furthest from the elevator but have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, yesterday
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilton Stamford Hotel and Executive Meeting Center. Although we are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our guestrooms and delicious breakfast buffet we offer, we do regret any inconveniences you may have experience with the air temperature being too cold in our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Stamford.

Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If the need arises to spend time away from home you're likely to stay in a hotel. This is one of the good ones. It is spotless, convenient to everything of note in Stamford, remarkably affordable for the service and amenities offered and is manned by a staff that is extremely efficient, helpful and just pleasant to be around. If travel to Stamford, CT is in your future the Stamford Hilton is the hotel you need to stay at, it's that good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your great recommendation and review of your stay at Hilton Stamford Hotel and Executive Meeting Center. We are happy to hear that the comfort and terrific customer service we offer made you feel right at home. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here in August while visiting out son. The lobby was nicely appointed, and upon entering - the scent from the restaurant was very inviting! When making the reservation - I said that I would be arriving early and wanted to make sure it was ok to park our car and go out for the day. When we arrived earlier than expected (10:00 a.m.) - we were pleasantly surprised that we could checkin and put our belongings in the room! The front desk was very accommodating! As we got off the elevator going to our room...there was a board game scattered about the floor. It almost looked as though someone with their arms full had dropped it...but no box was in site. So we walked around it and got settled in. We were out of the facitlity until later that evening. I need to mention that our room was at the farthest reaches of the hotel....the last room in the hall. It was a nice room...bigger than you would usually see. You could accommodate a roll away bed or cot easily! When we opened the curtains...it was a roof top view!! Yes, we looked at a roof. UGH..... I would have checked in later if they would have told me - and perhaps gotten at least a highway view!!!! But...we were only there to sleep. Upon our arrival back at the hotel that evening, we could see many people milling around, It appeared that it was a "full house"! At about 10:00 we were jarred by yelling and screaming of children running the hall!! When my husband when to investigate...indeed it was a group of YOUNG (6 - 7 -8 year olds) running up and down...some were sitting on the floor playing a game (now we know who owned the board game!). They were not being supervised. My husband told them to stay at the other end of the hall and not to run. It took about an hour for them to calm down somewhat.... We figured the hotel was full...and we were settled in - so why complain. Had it gone on much longer...we would have indeed called the front desk. I suggest that the management - when multiple families are staying together - - put THEM at the end of the hall!!! And...all management had to do was do spot tours....the noise and roughhousing were totally uncalled for! Hopefully we won't have to stay again...if we do...I will ask for a better location room...making sure to be away from families!!!!

Room Tip: Question the location.....so you don't get a roof view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for bringing your experience of your stay to our attention. Although we are delighted that you appreciated the early check-in and comfort of our guestroom, it was disappointing to hear that you were not happy with other areas of your stay. Please know that our staff are always available for our guests should a situation like this occur and we wished that you had reached out to us so that we may have addressed it while you were here. We apologize that the noise from the hallway disturbed your rest and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a relaxing stay.

Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. It is a quick walk from the train station (it was nice out or the shuttle would have been utilized). The room was clean and fresh, staff very helpful and friendly and the facility made for a great stay. The restaurant had great food with an excellent selection. We extended our stay because the hotel was so nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We cannot express in words just how delighted we were to read your review and to hear all about the things you were happy with when you stayed with us at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We are very pleased that you not only enjoyed our convenient location to Metro North and our on-site restaurant Senses, but that our friendly staff had such a positive impact. Thank you for your great review of your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.

Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Address: 1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.