We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center to your Saves list
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Not bad, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel building is very pretty and the staff are friendly. However, the rooms don't differ tremendously from what one would find at a more economical hotel. I was also disappointed by the fact that there was no microwave or mini fridge (so beware if you have perishable items or plan to microwave your meals), only a small coffee machine so heating my baby's milk became a challenge. There is no breakfast or internet service, unless you're prepared to pay extra. Also no free parking as far as I could tell. The pros, there is a gym, a large indoor pool and a hot tub (although the hot tub was out of service during my stay) which you probably won't find at 1-2 star hotels and may be worth it if you plan to use them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We are pleased that you received friendly, professional service and that you enjoyed much of what we have to offer. We also understand that not everything about your stay was to your liking. We appreciate those comments as well, and will use the feedback from you and all of our guests to determine if changes are necessary. Regarding microwaves and mini-fridges, they are available on request, based on availability, for rooms where they are not standard. Our website has the full details. In addition, we hope you and all of our guests would let us know immediately about a pressing need or concern so we can resolve the issue as quickly as possible. We are always ready and happy to help. Please come back and stay with us again. It would be our pleasure to help find you the perfect accommodations to suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    181
    143
    87
    53
See reviews for
134
109
55
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed 3 days at the hilton hotel. The location was pretty convinient close to the downtown area. The service was pretty good, they were warm and welcoming. I was very impressed by John one o the waiters who was very courteous and professional, he gave the importance needed to my husband's allergies, he was very grateful and will definetly will recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It is very gratifying to read your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We thank you for taking the time to write an online review. We were happy to have you as a guest and are very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location near Downtown Stamford. In addition, our hope is for each guest to be warmly welcomed and we are glad that was the case with you. We will pass along your compliments to our staff member who was attentive to your husband’s food allergies. It is great to receive your recommendation. We hope to see you and your friends at the hotel in the future – we will do all we can to give you another exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I came to this hotel on a business trip 3 days,room ok,location ok.... amazing just how friendly most of the hotel staff were.Especially John at the Lounge Club this person is no doubt inundated with tired and crabby tourists and business ppl every day all year round, and I never saw or heard a cross word;really polite and went out of his way to be helpful: I felt like a was on a cruiseship.thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
You use words we love to hear when guests provide feedback on the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center – great service, amazing, and friendly. Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay with us; we are very pleased we were able to give you a relaxing visit, complete with courteous and professional service. We are never anything but grateful to have our guests stay with us, and our goal always is to be welcoming, polite and helpful. We are glad that one of our staff was just that for you and will pass along your kind words. Please come back and stay with us again. We’ll be here, ready to take you on another outstanding voyage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the club lounge on a Wednesday, and I was totally surprised when after a long business day I found this person John Murcia, who gave me an excellent attention, the food variety was amazing. The place was very neat and clean so I enjoyed my stay. We need more people like John in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable accommodations at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center and that enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased that the selection you found in the Club Lounge and personal attention you received, added to your overall satisfaction. We will pass along your kind words to our staff. Please come back for another visit when we will do our best to impress you with more courteous service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My experience both at the bottom, middle, and top of organizations has taught me that when things are running well, you can look to leadership. But when the people in that organization are not only competent but truly happy in their work and their concern for the customers they serve, then there's a positive and synergistic alchemy at work where everyone shares the credit. The Hilton Stamford certainly has competent people, but the extraordinary thing is that they are happy in their work, and the good vibes prevade the place. To be particularly cited are Millie in the breakfast restaurant, and Davian and Maria G. at the front desk. Now all this doesn't mean everything is absolutely perfect. The treadmills in the fitness room need to be put out to pasture. The one I was on added to the heart racing challenge by skipping in speed every now and again. But the front desk promised to promptly follow up. The tile floor from the garage to the elevator is very slippery when wet. This elevator is slow and creaky. The business center computer I'm on could use a much faster connection, or faster computers. Finally, we had a corporate heavy hors d'oeuvres cocktail party in the atrium, and it was superb. Good job HIlton Stamford!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind words, and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass along your compliments to our staff, particularly those you mentioned. Our goal is for each of our guests to receive the warm greeting and professional and courteous service you experienced at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We are also gratified that you enjoyed your corporate function. Making sure our corporate guests are well cared for is very important to us. Finally, we thank you for all of your comments and will closely review your suggested improvements. We hope you’ll come stay with us again for another superb visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A great place to stay when going to NYC from New England. A short ride from the city but much more affordable.
Room was comfortable and clean. Restaurant in the lobby with a limited menu - good food - rather expensive however. Friendly staff, very helpful.
One drawback: don't opt for the valet parking at $13.00 as they are rather slow. Use the self parking garage - attached to the hotel -for $10.00 per day.

Room Tip: For $5.00 you can request a corner room if available. Use self-park instead of valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We are glad that you found the hotel to be an overall great place to stay, with clean and comfortable rooms. As you point out, we are conveniently located near major East Coast cities, and we’re just outside New York City. We are pleased our location made your travels easier. Our self-parking option is a good one for many of our guests, and your advice on that front is welcomed. We hope you’ll come back for another stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly people, the staff there was great!!! just more time in cleaning the rooms there was something on the floor under the chair that should have never been there. other then that i really had no complaints for it to be an extreme busy night everyone worked well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and that our friendly and helpful staff added to your overall satisfaction. If ever there is a housekeeping issue, we ask our guests to contact the Housekeeping Department and it will be taken care of immediately. We hope you’ll be back to see us again. We’ll do all we can to make it another great visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Address: 1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.