We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No lost and found help.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No lost and found help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this Hilton on the 7th, 8th and 9th of November 2012. Nice hotel rooms were comfortable. Our room was never made up the 3 days we were there. We were able to get clean towels from the maid in the hallway! I left my sweatshirt and jacket in the Lobby area. I inquired at the front desk and the woman said that she had seen it there all night but now it was gone. Granted I left the jacket and shirt there totally my fault.
The problem is that I have called 5 times since my return home. I have left messages and no one at this Hilton Hotel has called me back or responded to me.I just want to know if the lost and found has my jacket and shirt.Apparently it would be too much of an inconvenience for any of the employees that I have spoken with to walk over to the lost and found department and look to see if my items that I described to five different people were there or not and then pickup the phone and call me back to let me know if my stuff is there or not. Is this really asking to much? Here it is almost December still no call. Shame on you Hilton!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
While we’re glad to hear that your stay was comfortable, it greatly concerns us to read that you encountered such an inconvenience after leaving our hotel. The matter of your sweatshirt and jacket will be discussed with our managers in order to hopefully come to a quick resolution. Thank you for reaching out to us in this forum. It is regrettable that your otherwise enjoyable experience was marred by this and we offer our sincerest apologies. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    136
    115
    72
    47
See reviews for
103
81
43
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My father booked and paid for our 2 rooms. When he booked online he specified that we wanted connecting rooms or at the least, rooms across from each other. We checked in and were told to park in the parking garage. They charge you $10 per night to park yourself in this garage. I was a little shocked by that. When we got our 4 children out and up to our rooms we found out they were actually on the same side but 3 rooms apart. We called back to the check-in desk and asked that since the one room we were in connected with the next, if we could have that room. They said it needed to be cleaned and they would have it ready in about 45 minutes. We waited that time and noone had come to clean it so we went out to eat. When we got back about 1 1/2 hours later the room was ready. The first night we realized that the a/c didn't work. Our room was very hot. Also the tub drain was clogged and when we took showers the tub filled up past our ankles. The second day my husband had to go to 4 different floors before he found a vending machine that actually had soda in it. We were hoping to try the breakfast buffet but at $20 per person it wasn't going to happen. It would have cost us $100 for breakfast! Overall the hotel looked beautiful from the outside. The lobby was beautiful as well. The hotel is not situated in a great area though. I would not want to walk the streets alone at night. It doesn't look very safe. There were plenty of men walking the streets at night but they were all wearing big coats and you couldn't even see their faces. It looks like they are trying to "revitalize" the area but it still feels rough and tough. The staff at the hotel are very nice and pleasant. I guess i just expected the rooms to be more beautiful, more upscale. The biggest plus is that the beds and pillows are VERY comfortable. The beds had feather pillows that were amazing! I loved the beds and pillows. There is a good sized indoor, heated pool and jacuzzi that kept the kids busy too. I guess i just expected more from a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at our hotel. Your kind words regarding our comfortable beds, staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. However, we would like to address a few of your comments for more clarity. The location of our hotel is convenient to both travelers and business professionals being that we are located near many corporate headquarters. The area, and most especially the hotel, is safe, but your own discretion is always recommended when traveling anywhere. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered in your room and will have our Maintenance Engineers promptly look into a remedy for the situation. Thank for reaching out to us and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Quick overnight after Thanksgiving holiday. Got two rooms with priceline. Charged 15 extra fir the empty parking garage. Didn't try to get rooms together. Our first room wasp already occupied and the room let worked! Good thing we were honest! 2nd room reeled so bad if smoke we could barely breathe. 3rd was OK. They did give us 2free breakfasts - for a parry of 3. Husband and son said it was barely passable. Can't believe they charge $16. Won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Please allow us to convey our deepest apologies that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are very concerned to hear of the inconveniences you encountered, especially since our property is 100% smoke free, and regret that you departed from our hotel with disappointment. Your comments will be shared with all departments in the hopes of improving the experience for all future guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on Thanksgiving. First room smelled of smoke despite being on the Executive level. Switched to another and that tv wasn't working right. Switched again. This time the tv wasn't working right AND the a/c - heat didn't work. Internet wasn't free unless you paid for it and asked for a credit despite being Hilton Honors member. Hotel is just over 25 years old. They need to do something to improve the rooms!! Service was pretty good

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Please allow us to clarify a few of your comments. No matter what level guestroom is reserved, our hotel is 100% smoke free and we do apologize if our strict standards were not observed. We’ve recently offered to our guests, free internet throughout the hotel, available until January 31, 2013, and your stay should have been reflective of that. While we’re happy that you received attentive service from our staff, we’re extremely disappointed to hear about the remainder of your stay and we offer our apologies that we did not create a better experience for you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope to be able to regain your trust during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is old and in need of upgrades. So first for the good, the concierge staff is very friendly, helpful and the shuttle to the train station for folks going into NY City is very helpful. However, the room walls are paper thin so you'll hear your neighbor even if they are somewhat quiet. In addition, when checkout time came I had just ended a conference call and packing up when housekeeping started pounding on my door (it was literally 1 minute after checkout time, and I have status with Hilton). When I opened the door and showed them I would be exiting the room in minutes, the individual stated very loudly that they would charge me for another night since I hadn't vacated at the top of the hour. (That did not happen). In addition, when I checked in there were no rooms available on the Hilton Honors floor and they did not provide access to the Hilton honors lounge because I wasn't on that floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It is certainly disheartening to learn that we did not make a better impression. While we’re happy to hear that our convenient location and Concierge helped to create a comfortable stay, your experience otherwise is certainly not what we want to provide our guests. Your candid feedback is appreciated and we hope to have another chance in the future to create the experience that you deserve. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My first visit to this hotel was around July of this year and it was exceptional. I have frequented here often since then and I am utterly appalled at how badly the service, staff, cleanliness and convenience has declined since my first visit.

I often try to book the "Deluxe suite" as I originally found it to be very nice. Each time there after when I tried to book this suite I was told by the staff that no room with such a name existed. I was then told by the reservations hotline that a room with such a name did exist. The staff at the hotel is completely clueless as to what their own rooms entail. They make it incredibly difficult to book the room you are looking for. I often called and spoke to Travis who consistently could never answer any question and would immediately put me on hold. He would tell me he would be back with the answer and then transfer me to another completely clueless teller without explaining to anyone my original question. I had to literally restate myself four or five times before getting a very vague response. Bottom line ... Booking here is a complete nightmare and I will never waste my time with Travis or another clueless teller again.

Additionally the room service is inconsistent at its best. I ended up spending 100 dollars on breakfast for in room dining and got a very small portion of eggs, cold toast, bitter coffee and the list goes on. I asked for Tabasco which they could not provide Stating they were out. I don't know what possessed me to give their steak a try but I immediately regretted my decision. Essentially the food and in room dining service is not worth the hassle and money.

I had to call the front desk around 6pm to Ask for housekeeping to come clean my room as they had not done so all day. I returned to find no fresh towels and shower and tub untouched. The room itself was overall run down with stains on the floor.

Furthermore, wifi connection is terrible and they charge 10 dollars a day to use a connection that is weak. I could probably get a better connection from my room by using signal from one down the street, and it would be free.

I once spent an additional fee for what they call the "romance package" to find it was a HUGE waste of money. The package advertises "late check out" but I had two different house keepers banging on my door at 11 and 12.

After my ranting I will sum it up this way. I will ever again give business to this hotel. I have wasted a lot of time and money hoping they will improve but it only gets worse. The staff is clueless inefficient and not well trained. The quality is nowhere near enough for what you spend. Hilton you should truly be embarrassed. Your staff has absolutely no idea about their rooms and always redirect you to someone else. Shameful!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
The disappointment you’ve shared in your comments is certainly not the experience that we expect for our guests. While we can understand your frustration with not receiving the answers you required, please let us further explain the type of rooms available. We offer a King Bed Deluxe guestroom which includes upgraded amenities. Additionally, we offer Executive, Governor & Presidential Suites which are luxuriously enhanced for ultimate comfort. We do apologize for any confusion. All feedback that we receive is highly valued and we will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. We hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future and sincerely thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have had the pleasure now twice to seek refuge at the Hilton in Stamford due to a week long power outage both times. The first from a freak snow storm last year that left most of Connecticut without power and the second from Hurricane Sandy.

All of the employees have handled themselves with extreme politeness and general willingness to please in both cases. That is not an easy thing to do when most everyone is there not by choice but by necessity. My hat goes off to the chef. In this storm, he had to improvise a buffet and feed a lot of people when he and/or the hotel could not get shipments of food. In fact, one breakfast, after the crowd had devoured everything in site, the chef made me and anyone else a special batch of fresh hot muffins after finding out there were none left. All of the employees though from the front desk to the bell man really were happy and willing to help in anyway even if they could not get home to their families. My husband and I cannot thank those who work there enough for the upbeat attitude. The rooms are great too. Just don't position yourself near an ice machine, kind of gets busy in times like we had.

Room Tip: Rooms not near ice machine are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are truly humbled by your gracious comments and offer our heartfelt thanks for the time you took to share your experiences. Providing thoughtful and attentive service during not one, but two challenging times in CT, indeed shows the dedication our staff has to the Hilton Stamford Hotel and we are extremely proud of them. Your review will absolutely make them smile! It was certainly our pleasure to have you stay with us and we’d love to have you come back when the weather is favorable too! Thank you for your uplifting review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Address: 1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.