We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trips Restaurant

Trips Restaurant
348 Hope St, Stamford, CT 06906-1704
203-324-2600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 372 Restaurants in Stamford
Restaurant details
Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've been to Trips many times while visiting my parents. The food is consistently delicious! The specials are interesting and are reasonably priced. There is great variety of food on the regular menu! Most of all, the staff at Trips is very friendly, warm and welcoming! It is my favorite restaurant when visiting the Stamford area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Trips is a local favorite. If you plan on visiting on a Friday or Saturday evening, do yourself a favor and call ahead for a reservation because the place is usually packed. There is a small, but lively bar area and the main dining room seats about 50 people. I usually have the prime rib and it is one one of the best around for the price. I highly recommend this little gem tucked away in Glenbrook.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Family owned, warm friendly restaurant outside of downtown. Delicious food. Have been there often and their weekday specials are a great deal. My two new favorites are swordfish Carribean and tilapia Francese. I don't know which I enjoyed more. Their burger is so juicy and delicious! Love the French onion soup. They also do catering and I have ordered trays of Chicen Marsala, penne ala vodka, and salads for large family parties.

Be sure to try to get a seat at the bar and watch the bartender on a Saturday night...constant motion and always time for a joke!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I ordered chicken with eggplant and mozzarella cheese. I actually had to chew the eggplant - finally the waiter and the owner decided it was a "bad" batch of eggplant. They deducted my meal from the check but I still think it was a little too expensive. I don't have any intention of going back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have known the Trips' family for years and have always enjoyed the food, the service and, especially, the warm atmosphere.
Prime rib, soft-shelled crabs are our favorites, but everything is done well!
We go frequently and are never disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trips Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Trips Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trips Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.