We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit card fraud - stay elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Suites to your Saves list
Stamford Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Bedford Street, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Syracuse, New York, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Credit card fraud - stay elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

3 of us traveled to Stamford on business and most hotels were booked. Stamford Suites looked nice online, but was not clean or updated. A week later all 3 of us were hit for credit card fraud after our stay there. The only common place was this hotel... stay away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Syracuse_12,

Thank you for being our guest at Stamford Suites Hotel and for taking your time writing about us. I am sorry to hear that you and your colleagues had the problem after you left. I ensure you that the system that we are using is the same as hundreds if not thousands of other hotels around the world are using. It is reliable and secured otherwise we will not use it because, as any other hotels do, we handle payment daily - cash or credit cards, I hope you bank is able to resolve your issue soon. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in any way.

Hospitably Yours,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
7
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I live in Stamford and was very lucky to find a place to stay at the Stamford Suites during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. I went to the hotel a few days before the hurricane to check out the place, since a negative review was written several years ago, and I wanted to see for myself. I was shown two very comfortable and clean suites. We stayed at the hotel for six days and had a very quiet, pleasant and comfortable experience. Although the hotel does not have a spa, the tub in the bath does have jets to simulate a jacuzzi or whirlpool. Our suite came with a king size bed in a separate spacious bedroom. There are eight floors to the hotel and a total of 45 suites. I was told that the hotel was built in 1982. The corner suites are larger than the others, but all of the suites are very clean, spacious and comfortable with a fully equipped kitchenette. This is not a fancy hotel, but it offers very good value for what you get. Some of the furniture in the room show signs of normal wear and tear from usage over the years, and I was told that they will be replaced in the future. The price they charge was very fair compared to other single room hotels in the city and area. The three front desk staff ladies, Ebony, Fana and Tara were very helpful, pleasant and polite to us and the other guests. The four housekeeping staff ladies were hard working, meticulous about their work and very accommodating. The two maintenance workers were very polite and prompt to deliver
service. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Stamford within easy access to a variety of restaurants, movie houses, pharmacies, shopping at the Stamford Town Center Mall and other local shops, nightlife, Interstate I-95 and the Merritt Parkway. The hotel offers indoor and outdoor parking, although most guests prefer to park outdoors, right outside of the lobby. The hotel is very safe, quiet and is located right across from the police station. The hotel offers a nice continental breakfast in the morning from 6-9 a.m. It also offers a complimentary shuttle service to the Stamford Train Station and local corporate offices from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m, and in the evening from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. I was told that they also offer shuttle service to the airports for a fee, but arrangements must be made and paid in advance. There is a laundry room in the basement with three washers and three driers for the guests. The one complaint that I had is, I was told that I could make local calls free of charge, but the phones did not work. However, when I was checking out of the hotel the maintenance workers told me that the phone service provider was actually in the hotel fixing the problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suites, because they are larger, but any suite in the hotel will be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear travelace 71,

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review for Stamford Suites Hotel. It was a pleasure having you here. I am glad that we were able to serve you in the time of need. I hope your home now is back to normal condition.

Thank you very much for the detailed information regarding our hotel amenities such as whirlpool bath tub, fully equipped kitchen, continental breakfast, our laundry facility, and shuttle service. Thank you for noticing how helpful our staff had been for you. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Again I appreciate you taking your time to write a detailed piece of information. Look forward to having you here again!

Hospitably Yours,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I lived in this suites hotel for last four months. I am very sorry I didn't know about it before and used to live in another one.

Hotel's location is in the heart of Stamford downtown. You can walk to mall, parks, movies, restaurants. It's near I95 and not far from Merrit, so you easily drive out from the town.

I lived in 5 or 6 different rooms - all of the rooms have fully equipped kitchen and bathrooms with Jacuzzi baths.

Unlike all other suites hotels I stayed in, this one has room service on daily basis.

I liked everything in this hotel - it's staff, it's location, it's asian design.

If I'll ever need to stay in suites for a long time again, I'll stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Michael A,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about our Stamford Suites Hotel. It was a pleasure having you here. Thank you for noticing the convenience of our location which is right in the heart of Stamford Downtown area. Although we are located in the center of the city where you can pretty much walk to everything, we also offer shuttle service that can take you anywhere in Stamford within 5 mile radius.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to having you here again.

Hospitably Yours,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Stamford Suites during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. Given the dearth of available rooms, I especially appreciated what I considered to be fair pricing.
Although the suites are not fancy, they are clean and spacious. The kitchenette is fully equipped, although a few more dishes would be nice to have. The room offers plenty of furniture for dining, relaxing and working on one's laptop.The towels and bed linens were in good condition and of fair quality. The mattress was comfortable.
The front office staff, especially Ebony, were professional, courteous and polite in their interactions with me and other visitors. This is especially noteworthy given the fact that they were inundated by frantic callers seeking shelter from the storm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear R L,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about our Stamford Suites Hotel. It is a pleasure to have you as our guest. I am happy to hear that we were able to serve you and be of help in the time of need. I hope we were able to make you feel like home and hope that your 'home' is now back to the 'home' you used to.

Hospitably Yours,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel stands out because the rooms are all true suites, separate bedroom with a king bed, living room and kitchen. They now run a shuttle service morning and evening which saves cab fare to the station, but in any case Stamford restaurants and shopping are walk-able.
Good value in an expensive town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Imackin,

Thank you for taking your time to write about our Stamford Suites Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the location of our hotel. Yes we now provide complimentary shuttle service to local corporate offices, train station, restaurants, and other entertainment in Stamford. I hope you were able to utilize the shuttle service as well.

Thank you again for being our guest. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any inquiry for your future reservation. I will take care of your reservation and upgrade to our Royal Suite (750sq.ft.) with 42" flat screen TV, larger living area, and a dining table. We look forward to having you here again soon.

Regards,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night while attending a golf tournament in the area. I specifically asked when I reserved the room, that the sofa bed be made up and opened for our arrival. When we checked in and I asked if it had been done, the receptionist politely replied that she didn't know and that she did not make the reservation. She said she would give me sheets if it was not. It was not. When I returned to the lobby, she gave me sheets, one pillow and no blanket. (Apparently they were out.)
The hotel and the rooms are a bit dated, but yes they do have nice flat screened tvs. WiFi is complementary, but automatically logs you off after about an hour. No ice machines for people who may want to fill a cooler for travel.
Clearly this hotel is meant for people who are staying for an extended period of time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mlacoach,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about our Stamford Suites Hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience at your arrival. However I am glad to hear that you were able to utilize our sofa bed for extra person without extra charge, the complimentary WiFi, and the flat screen TVs which are newly updated earlier this year.

Our one bedrooms suites have fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, stove top oven, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, and a dining table. The living area attached to the kitchen has a sofa bed, coffee table and an executive work desk. We facilitate extended stay guests as well as short term stay.

I hope to see you again. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any inquiry. I will personally take care of your reservation and will upgrade you to our Royal Suite.

Regards,
Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

All looked very dull . Air conditioning not great and extractor in bathroom horrendously loud . Would not stay here again . We have previously stayed in many different hotels and bed and breakfast establishments, and this has been a real let down .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sansani C, General Manager at Stamford Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Barbara2002,

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review for our Stamford Suites Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant time while you were staying with us. I apologize for the inconvenience. Maintenance issues occur all the time and I wish you gave us a chance to fix the problem so you could enjoy your stay. We have maintenance staff 7 days a week.

I hope you were able to enjoy other service and amenities such as complimentary shuttle service to local area, access to local health club, complimentary wifi internet access, etc. Again I apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Sansani Chanthakitkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Suites

Address: 720 Bedford Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stamford
#3 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stamford Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.