We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Club Lounge and Fitness Riom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Stamford Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Club Lounge and Fitness Riom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very clean and quiet. I was happy to receive free upgrade with access to club lounge. Great complimentary happy hour and breakfast. Perfect for solo business traveler. Easy access to highway, short walk to train station and large mall area.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the many features of the Club Level. The property also provides complimentary transportation to and from the train station and the Stamford Town Center Mall, as well as several other locations within a 5 mile radius, if needed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    102
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
34
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed two nights. Great hotel but terrible parking.

First night, hotel’s garage was closed because of being full. Drove around the neighborhood to find alternative parking that I was comfortable with. Found none and went back to hotel. Staff said that garage would open after a few people left (from special events at hotel).

From arrival time until being able to park, 70 minutes driving neighborhood and then waiting for a space = 1 hour 10 minutes.

Next night had the same problem. Waited 40 minutes to find an available space. (Cars were waiting ahead of me and I had to wait for my turn.)

I drove the garage from top to bottom several times. I counted 141 obvious new cars taking up parking spaces. Spoke with hotel’s GM several days later, and he said that they lease out 200 spaces for the storage of new cars. I am offended that they would lease out so many spaces that guests sometimes have to wait 40 to 70 minutes just to park their car.

In summary, this is a very beautiful hotel. If you stay there without a car, this hotel is top of the line. If you intend to bring a car, I strongly recommend that you stay somewhere else.

Steve McEvoy
West Chester, PA

Room Tip: Read all reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize that you had difficulty finding adequate parking in the parking garage on your arrival. It is rare for the property to have any issues with parking. As you indicate, the property does lease space to a local dealership for it’s new car inventory. We are able to work with this partner however, and arrange to have their cars re-distributed to allow for additional parking for our guests. On this particular occasion however, the need for additional spaces was not communicated to the team. The team also makes arrangements for alternative parking at the nearby church. Again we do apologize if this was not communicated to you. Recently the hotel has been completing upgrades to the garage, and there are more planned for the upcoming weeks. We hope that should your travels bring you to the area, you will try us again and see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here while on a 2 night trip to New York City for a youth group of high schoolers with about 30 kids. When we got there I was really annoyed because it took them around 45 minutes to get my friends and I our room keys but I can understand that there would be confusion. Besides that, it was good. There are rooms on the 2nd floor that are very nice that you can rent out and we had one for the full 3 days and it was very nice, also the staff are extremely nice. The rooms are nice too, and although we didn't eat the hotel's food, it looked good as a lot of the people seemed to be enjoying it. The lobby is really nice, along with the pool and fitness center. I think it would be a great place to have a business conference. It is a good option for a trip to NYC, but if you need to get to the city at, say, 4:00, and leave at 3:00 on the weekend or during rush hour, you will not make it. The trip with not traffic would probably take 45 minutes-1 hour. But there is terrible traffic. It took about 2 hours and 45 minutes to go from the hotel to Bryant Park. There is a solution though. Just take the train, and the Stamford Station is probably a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, checking in large groups can be difficult, particularly if the group all wants to be together, or needs particular rooms that are not ready. We do our best to try to accommodate everyone as quickly and efficiently as possible. Your patience is greatly appreciated. We have several meeting rooms available on our Mezzanine level, as well as two large ball rooms, and the atrium for meetings, banquets, etc. And thank you for the tip regarding the train to Grand Central- as you state a train trip is generally 45 minutes to an hour, while traveling by car in traffic can be much longer. We are pleased that your group enjoyed it’s time with us, and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great hotel, excellent location, walking distance to area mall, shoppes, and restaurants. Enjoyed the lobby bar. Breakfast was ok, and very expensive, was very disappointed, you're better off walking down the street to grab something. Other than that it was a pleasant stay, comfy beds, sleek hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection. The Food and Beverage team has already planned a menu change for the near future. We are pleased that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Was looking for a place to stay overnight (prior to a tour of Philip Johnson's Glass House in New Canaan and Stamford was the closest and actually less that 15 minutes away! The hotel has been newly renovated and in shines. I especially liked the choice of take-out café, dining in the lobby or room service. Really appreciated the free wifi in the room. Check in was quick and smooth. The room like the lobby was renovated and they really have done a great job with the décor. It was modern, but not sterile and very comfortable.

I also like that I was asked if I would like to be near or far away from the elevator. I chose far away (less noise) and was given room 840. It was so quiet. Which was amazing considering the hotel was very full. Between the great bed and the quiet room had a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room 840 was good for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased that our team was polite and friendly, and that the room was quiet and comfortable! Thank you for the compliments on our recent renovation. Upgrades are never complete however, and the property is always looking for and making improvements. Some upcoming include lighting in the parking garage, and an improved entrance experience from that area. We look forward to your next visit when you can see these improvements as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding on premises and the stay was commensurate with my previous Sheraton experiences. I have also stayed at the Stamford Marriott around the corner on a previous occasion and would rate the Sheraton a step above based upon my experiences at both locations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations on this visit, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel for a wedding in the area. It's centrally located (Stamford isn't that big!), but getting to the actual parking area is a bit confusing with all of the one-way streets. There's a sign at the corner of Broad & Elm St, so look for that and follow the arrows.

The staff was nice (although the second staff member who wasn't checking anyone in was oblivious to me standing there - seemed busy on her phone) and quick. The entire lobby area smells wonderful!

The room is spacious. A few minor quibbles:
- the bathroom is modern and equipped with a rain shower, which is great! However, for some reason the shower is only 3/4 enclosed, so a lot of water can and does get out of the stall. Just put a towel down and you're good.
- the in-room coffee was passed it's expiration date. I don't really care about things like that, and drank it anyway. However, more "discriminating" guests might balk.

The big plus is this: the bed is one of the best beds my wife and I have ever slept on. Maybe we were just exhausted, but we had a great night sleep.

Parking is about $10/night with in and out privileges. We ended up paying about $75 through hotwire.

We were there for only a quick trip, so we didn't make use of the fitness center, pool or restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests. We are very pleased that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and that our team was friendly. We apologize for the attentiveness issue you encountered, and have brought it to the Front Office team for suggestions and improvement. Our deepest apologies that the amenities in your room were not current. These are checked daily as part of our Housekeeping department's routine. This was brought to that team's attention, and a complete re-check of items is under way. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We hope that if your travels bring you into the area again, you will stay with us and see the improvements you have helped to initiate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
#5 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Stamford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.