We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Stamford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our first visit to this area and this hotel and we very happy. The hotel staff was very knowledgable about the area and also was very helpful explaining the train system to get into NYC. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was clean. They also have a shuttle available for no cost so getting to the train station was easy. Parking was also included with in/out privileges. We did not use any of the facilities as we were visiting family the entire time. Warning: There is a fire station across the street so ask for a room that does not face that direction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel that does not face the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so very glad that your stay was enjoyable, and comfortable. We hope on your next visit you are able to make use of some of our other fine facilities; 700 Main Restaurant, Link Café, the Core Performance fitness center and indoor pool. Our staff is always willing to assist with information about the hotel or the general area. We look very forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
30
11
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

By reading the other reviews for this hotel, you would believe this hotel is the same as most of the hotels in Stamford, CT. You'd be right on the money. For the price and location, you would be thinking "I could have stayed in hotel A or hotel B or hotel C and get the same atmosphere, courtesy and service as this hotel." and you would be almost right. The lounge is pretty open and yet very comfortable. Internet access is fine in the lobby. You also have access to the pool and exercise room if you have the time to stay.

To me, for the price of a room plus paying for internet access in room and either eating in the dining area (Which is right next to and below the lounge area) or paying for the room service fees, you would probably be better off spending that extra $25 - $50 per night on the more upscale hotels in the area. This place does seem to be more quiet being right next to a busy road. Comfortable bed and more channels on the TV that most other hotels. The bathroom is stocked with almost all the necessary items and the shower is more accessable and adjustable than the ones in the standard 1 and 2 star hotels.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and offer better choices in amenities. More secure since you need your room key to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It touches on several of the amenities the property highlights, location, comfortable bed, 42 in flat screen TV, complimentary internet in the lobby link, along with the indoor pool and Core Performance fitness center. It would seem that we met each of your needs. Our goal however, is to exceed our guests expectations. We hope you are able to visit again, and that on the next visit we are able to achieve this goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stamford is not a place to come for fantastic hotels. This hotel, which last time I stayed at was a Holiday Inn, is not great but not bad either. I think it is better than the Marriott as its public areas are nicer and the rooms have been updated and are more modern. It also is normally a lot cheaper than the Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and highlighting our recent updates! We are always working to improve the appearance and comfort of the property for our guests. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What can you say...downtown Stamford is a dump.
Check-in prompt and efficient
That said this hotel while not earth shattering is comfortable and the lobby has a certain warmth to it...and natural light.
The little PC/Internet area is a cutsey social space infront of the coffee/sundries shop...room to sit around and surf for free in the lobby...good enough.
Room size was good (larger than NYC where I was coming from)
Room was quiet- easy to do when you're in dowtown Stamford.

Would I stay again? If I needed to save time and energy rather than schlepping on the train back and forth to NYC- totally. It's boring but you'll be much more rested if you've come from another continent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! And thank you for highlighting the ease of taking the train to NYC. Many don’t realize that it is a quick 30 minute ride, or that we provide complimentary transportation to and from the station in Stamford. You must have missed the many wonderful places to visit in the area however! Stamford Town Center mall is only 2 blocks away, and beyond that, Atlantic Street is generally bursting with activity with the many restaurants and shops. There are also the Rich Forum and Palace Theatre which feature a variety of shows and events. On your next visit please let us know what your interests are – I’m sure we’ll find something in Stamford or close by that will fit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great customer service in reception and the restaurant. Very clean and well appointed bedrooms - beds are dauntingly high, but wonderfully comfortable (quite firm). Great internet service and nice touch in the bar area is the plasma TV showing a roaring log fire on continuous loop !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. While in the winter months we enjoy the ‘roaring fire’ as well, you will want to stop back in the Spring when we enjoy a variety of salt water fish! We look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for bsuiness this week. Was the second time I have been at this hotel in the past 14 months and the first since it has become a Sheraton. Service at the front desk is outstanding, everyone was so friendly. I had meetings nearby so being able to use the hotel shuttle bus was also a great convenience. It is also walking distance to nice restaurants and the mall so that is nice.

The lobby area is top notch and the rooms were very comfortable with a bed made to get a good nights sleep in. I ;like the fact the shower was enclosed with glass. I hate the showers with a shower curtain, too tacky for me and the shower head here was one of the few hotel ones I have seen where you actually get decent water pressure and can have a nice shower. If I was in Stamford again I would definitely stay here.

Only things they need to improve are:

1. Room service, I ordered twice and they made mistakes both times. it isn't that hard to give me a burger with no tomato and pickle just like I ordered. Then for breakfast when they delivered it there was no suger for the coffee. I called up straight away and it took 10 minutes to bring it back by which time my coffee and meal was cold. I told the front desk and they were nice and gave me some Starwood points but it wasn't enough to offset the issues.

2. Also in the bathroom, needs a bit of maintenance, there are cracks where the walls join the roof in the shower, need some grouting done there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests. We are so glad that the staff, room and amenities met your expectations. Thank you for your insights on our room service and maintenance for the bath. These have both been brought to our management staff for their attention and follow up with their teams. We will work hard to prevent any other guests from encountering these same items. If you are in Stamford again, we would certainly welcome another visit, and another chance to assure your entire stay is enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently had 2 separate meeting events at the Sheraton.
Everything was arranged and put together for us on an amazing level.
The guest rooms, the meeting room, were all perfect.
Service in the guest room was spectacular, they did a great job taking care of all our requirements.
A special thanks to Arvin and his team.

Parking: on location (for a fee, we got it complimentary)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine C, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased that your meetings went well, and that our accommodations and services exceeded your expectations. Our Sales, Banquets and Catering teams all work hard on each occasion to try to achieve exactly this. Your praise will certainly be passed along. We look forward to having you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Stamford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.