We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located business hotel, comfortable, staff does well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Stamford Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well-located business hotel, comfortable, staff does well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is not brand-new, rather it is a remodeled Holiday Inn. That said, aside from the elevator-inspection certificates, you'd almost never know its past.

Check-in was super easy and as a long-time Starwood member I was upgraded to the club floor and parking was cut from $10 to $5. Of the two issues I had, one was with the original room. It reeked of cigarette smoke. I went downstairs and was given a different room on the same floor and all was ok. The room is modern, with a large tiled shower area (no tub), nice furnishings, flat-screen TV, ipod-dock radio, and a tall, very comfortable (not too soft, not too firm) bed. I wish the pillows had a bit more firmness, but they did the job well.

The Club floor has a happy hour each night and I was able to enjoy some wine and snacks before heading out to eat. I was happy that, when I asked about walking over to my restaurant, the staffer I spoke with didn't try to upsell me to stay and eat on property. That's a bonus in my book.

My complaint about the room is that the air conditioner is VERY LOUD. It gives away the cheaper history of the building (or, at least, its age), as many other Sheraton/Westin/W properties I've been in have had far quieter A/C units.

In the morning I hit the well-equipped fitness center (24-hour access) and was very happy with the assortment of equipment, stretching areas, etc.

The continental breakfast on the Club floor was great, with fresh coffee, fruit, good pastries (not cheap, overly-rich ones), lots of Kashi cereal products, and various newspapers.

Check out was a breeze and I was on my way. Definitely would stay here again, even though there are hotels closer to my office in Yonkers, NY (including a Tarrytown Sheraton that is always booked).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the waterfront, as that is where the train station is and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our property. With last year's renovating we certainly offer a brand-new Sheraton product, and we are glad you were able to experience this. We apologize for the smell of smoke in your room - we do strictly penalize anyone caught smoking in our guestrooms as we do have a strict non-smoking policy. We do have rooms with bathtubs upon request, as well as firm pillows for a more comfortable stay for you.

We apologize for the noise associate with your air conditioner. At this time we are not renovating the current units but constantly undergo preventative maintenance to make sure they are performing at their quietest and most efficient.

Our thanks again for a great detailed review, and hope you do make your way out to Stamford to stay with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    96
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
33
13
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Algeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I spent two weeks @ Sheraton stamford (previously Holiday-Inn)

Highlights:
big rooms,
breakfast room offering all kinds of sweet and salty food
free parking
courtesy tray (with coffee, milk and tea)
2washing and drying machines available for guests (get coins ready)

Lowlights:
too strong AC
No interesting FREE TV channels
No TV channels in other languages than English (Spanish, French, German, Arabic)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
We appreciate taking the time to review our property, and thank you for your comments. We are glad you foound the majority of our amenities to be to your liking. To your points of concern: we do offer all of the required standard channels within the Starwood/Sheraton brand and do offer expanded cable options. We have recently upgraded all of our televisions to now offer High Definition programming along with the Standard Definition channels, and with doing so have added more channels to our line up. We hope you are able to join us again and experience what we now have to offer - thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Got a good price thru PL. Good location in downtown Stamford. The early check in went without a hitch. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was on the small side (#728) but nicely furnished and very clean. I requested and received a non-smoking room. On check in I was told there was a 10 dollar charge per day for parking however for the three days I was there and parked, I was not charged. The only negatives are that the room windows do not open so you can't get any fresh air and they charge for internet. $4.99 for two hours and $9.99 for 24. In spite of the charges, I could never connect and the front desk staff don't have a clue. They say they have free internet available in the lobby but the internet is limited to their Sheraton Stamford portal. You cannot access the real web without paying. So in summary, a good, clean and comfortable room with locked windows. Friendly staff. Internet, if you can connect, is pricey. Nice brunch. With a deal from PL, you could do much worse in Stamford.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are glad you were able to enjoy our property and found our staff accommodating. We apologize for your concern about our locked windows, however we do require the windows to be locked as a standard protocol. We have also recently revamped our entire High-Speed Wireless network and redistributed where our internet signal is distributed on the floors - giving much stronger access regardless of location. Thank you again for your review, and hope you stay with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Freshly remodeled with large flat-screen TV in room, wonderful, comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. Close to shopping, restaurants, business district, train station. Included with room is complimentary breakfast which was quite good. Complimentary shuttle within 5 miles radius. Overall, a great value. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
We wanted to thank you for your review of our property and we are very glad your stay was enjoyable. It's great to hear that you found our location, the comfort in your room, and our breakfast all positive features of our property. We do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, and thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I were visiting family in Stamford, and could not have been made more comfortable at the Sheraton Stamford. Location was great for walking to shops and restaurants, and the free shuttle within the 5 mile radius was perfect for getting to our son's home. And the free pickup, even late at night was ideal. The hotel was top notch, both in updated decor and comfort and quiet. Staff were very attentive, even when we called for more coffee for the room. Sunday brunch was very good, although a bit harried with too few waiters.
All staff seemed to take interest in making our stay a good one! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We are very happy to hear about your enjoyable stay while coming to Stamford to see your family, and thank you for letting us know about your experience. We have worked hard to create a very enjoyable environment, from the service that we provide to the amenities that we offer, and it is comforting to know that you received everything well. On your return trip please don't hesitate to reach out to us if we can be of any assistance, and thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I travel to New Haven for work a few times each year and am always frustrated by the hotel options. This time, I decided to stay in Stamford and take the train to New Haven for work, and I'm so happy I did. The Stamford Sheraton is an easy location for the train station and offers a free shuttle. The staff is friendly and the food is great - a must when you're on the fly for meetings.

By far, the room was one of the best I've had at a Sheraton. The hallway was a little dingy, so I wasn't expecting much. But, the room had great finishes, a very comfortable bed, and spacious work desk. The bathroom was downright luxurious, and I truly appreciated the extra toiletries they provided (Shaving cream and a loufa - haven't seen that at a Sheraton before!)

I've solved my Connecticut hotel problem. I'll be staying at the Sheraton Stamford from here on out.

Room Tip: Join the Starwood Preferred Guest program to get the preferred floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We are glad you found a solution to your travel woes by staying with us: thank you for your comments and your review. We do offer a great set of amenities including our proximity to the train station and other hot spots, our complimentary shuttle service, the restaurant, and of course our guest rooms, as you mentioned. We always continue to improve and will certainly take your mention of the hallways into consideration. Most importantly, we are very happy to hear you will be joining us on your return trip to the area. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make you feel more comfortable, and once again, thank you for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a brand new Sheraton (converted from a previous Holiday Inn). The lobby is large and nice with lots of room to sit, computers and a great bar. Parking is in a covered deck. The staff is making a great effort to be friendly and helpfull to create a good impression for the hotel. The rooms are new, but like most Sheratons are smalish and the bathroom is very small. However it does have a standup shower with a remote on off control which makes it very convenient. The setup for working in the room is very comfortable. I was in the club floor and this is definitively one of the nicest clubs of any US Sheraton with hot food at night, healthy choices at night and in the morning and free alcohol at night. The workout room has new equipment and is a good size.

It is a block away from the downtown Stamford mall with a lot of shopping and places to eat.

Overall one of the nicest hotels in the area.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the club floor, the club is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thanks so much for your very kind review. With our recent transition to Sheraton we have added many new features and upgraded many already existing, such as the bedding and guestrooms, the Sheraton Club Lounge, and of course the entire lobby. We are also so glad you found the staff friendly and that everyone contributed to a good impression for you. We hope that you choose to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Stamford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.