We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our overnight at epicenter of the economic crisis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Boston
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our overnight at epicenter of the economic crisis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Location: In the heart of down town Stamford/Greenwich next to the financial institutions that trafficked in the leveraged instruments that brought down the world economy. Convenient on-off from I95 close to Stamford RR station. Easy access to NY via road or train.

Room: Clean, nicely furnished medium sized room with comfortable beds, large flat screen TV, fridge, desk, coffee maker. No complaints. Nicely refurbished.

Bath: Recently redone with a huge shower with two nozzels, but no bathtub. Odd sliding door.

Exercise and Pool Facilities: Looked very good. Will try on another visit.

Front desk: Service on check in was efficient and courteous even though we had booked via Priceline.

Problem: We never received our 5 AM wakeup call. Darned good thing we had set alarm watch PLUS cell phone, or we would have been in big trouble at JFK.

Unexpected Bonus: We managed to get out of the hotel before 6 AM and did not have to pay that 12 dollar parking fee. No attendant was on duty and the gate was open.

Unexpected Pleasure: The Colony Grill is about a half mile away on the other side of the tracks. If you enjoy savory crisp thin crust pizza in a tin ceiling old fashioned working class family place with reasonable prices. 8 bucks per pizza with buck fifty for each topping. The homemade sausage topping is highly recommended. Superb! Expect to wait during peak periods.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    177
    91
    36
    18
See reviews for
92
105
40
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This is one of the pet friendly hotels/resorts within commuting distance of Manhattan. We stayed there for Thankgiving and Christmas with our Chichuahau/Pug mix. Good room service food,wonderful spa. Nice room. Get the room with two queen beds and the wonderful double shower- two controls, a real spa treat! We are staying again-for July 4th!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Great room, awesome bathroom and shower! And the best AV hookup for laptops and iPods that I have seen. Too bad it's right next to an interstate with terrible high speed internet - additional cost should mean blazing fast speed - not waiting for downloads like dial-up. Great front desk staff, but bar service is a little slow and confused about the menu.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while attending business meetings nearby, and although I didn't spend that much time in the hotel itself, the staff was courteous, and the hotel was clean. That is the most important factors I believe and would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel was fine. Cleanliness excellent, with nice, new bathroom. Spa was fabulous. Check-in prompt. Food in restaurant OK. Parking was expensive. My main complaint , however, is one of security. There was quite a ruckus going on in the room next door to me (which included throwing things, loud noises, threats, door slamming, noise in the hall, cursing, etc. and it took several hours for securityh to stop this) and I was unable to sleep. In addition to the fear factor, I was exhausted the next day. I was offered free breakfast for my trouble. Wnen my organization complained, there was more compensation, but, as a female traveling alone, security is of utmost importance to me. I have never encountered anything like this in any other hotel. This is a very large hotel in a city and the security force may not be large enough to meet its needs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2009
I am very sorry there was excessive noise in the room next door during your recent stay in March. Our security team is on-site 24 hours a day, but with 500 rooms dispersed over 16 floors occasional noise complaints are difficult to control when we have large groups in house. Again, I am sorry for the disruption to your sleep that night, and thank you for the positive comments on the other aspects of your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to make your next visit a restful and quiet one.

Regards,
Peter Griffith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Great service. Excellent location for a weekend getaway. In the welcome center free internet, continental breakfast and bar, dining area. Mr Shan Mohammed was a great assistance in all of our outings and recommendations to visit in CT. A heartfelt thank you

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Last time we stayed here it was prior to the renovation, and we were underwhelmed. This time it was much nicer, thanks to a renovated room.

Stayed one weekend night with family--two young kids--for pleasure. It snowed hard, so we ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast and didn't leave the hotel the whole time.

Pool area still could use some sprucing up, but it was still fine, and hopefully it's next on the list for renovation. The room, meanwhile, was brand new. Staff was courteous. No complaints, and it's back on the list of our recommended Stamford/Greenwich hotels.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Address: 243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#6 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.