We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to place" in Stamford.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Huntington, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our "go to place" in Stamford.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I have been going to this Marriott for over 30 years and almost feel like we are coming home every time we arrive at the front desk. They keep up with the new styles of lobby decor and furniture changes that many of the Marriott have recently adopted. We feel that their weekend rates are so affordable and their breakfast buffet hard to beat which includes made to order omelettes, French Toast, sausage, bacon, fruit, pastries etc. There is now a new Courtyard Hotel in town which is getting excellent reviews and is in the heart of the restaurant area where the Marriott Hotel is a few blocks away from the main area of town. However, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to anyplace you want to go to until 11 at night. We are loyal to the Stamford Marriott and have never felt the need to look for any other hotel when visiting the Stamford area 2 or 3 times a year.The staff is always helpful and knowledgeable so that anything you need is always taken care of in a pleasant way. Keep up the excellent work Stamford Marriott. We are Lifetime Platinum Marriott Rewards members and this is one of our favorite hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to Highway 95 are in the newest wing and we prefer those. Don't worry, the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    183
    93
    36
    18
See reviews for
100
109
40
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This convenient in town location is aging and in need of a good cleaning and an update. while the bed was good and the bath was clean, carpets were poorly vacuumed and opening the desk drawer revealed someone's week old room service meal ignored in the cleaning process. On my first visit, the electronic lock on the room door failed completely leaving me stranded in the hall for over an hour while maintenance attempted to fish the lock with a wire.

On the plus side, staff is unfailingly pleasant, helpful and apologetic. Stamford is a nice town and there are far nicer places to stay. I'm a Marriott fan but this one needs help!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgriffith, Director of Sales at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am sorry your recent stay was less than perfect. The carpets should always be freshly vacuumed when you check-in, and there is no excuse for the food found in a desk drawer--please accept our apologies.
All guestrooms were renovated just four years ago, and the lobby and Sam's restaurant were remodeled only two years ago--these areas should always look fresh and clean since the work was quite recently done.

Thank you for the positive comments about our staff, and for taking the time to alert us about shortcomings our housekeeping team will work on starting now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Truly a fantastic hotel. We arrived Saturday March 16, 2013. From the moment we checked in till the minute we checked out everything was perfect. When we checked in I requested that we be put on high floor away from the highway and train. The front desk person gave us the 14 floor and it was excellent did not hear any noise. We also asked for directions to different places and they went out of their way to assist. They gave us maps and gave us suggestions as to where to eat. We also made reservations to the spa and it had to be the best treatment I had in a long time. The steam room was perfect and the treatment was even better. All I can say is it was a fantastic weekend at the Marriott. Thanks again. Wanted to just say thank you and we will be back again for another spa treatment and a day in Stamford.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MReeber, Manager at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! So glad to hear that you were able to take some time to relax at the Agora Spa. Please be sure to visit their website as they do have offer monthly specials on products and services. Hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

- nearby a small mall with a few good restaurants
- you can walk to the train station and hop to NYC for a few dollars
- business center with printers but run-down computers full of viruses that end up freezing
- we had catering as this was a business meeting - pretty good food and snacks
- it's true that you can hear the traffic on the highway
- bar in the hotel is one of the few places to have a beer on a Tuesday as there was nothing interesting available in town (the only pub-pool place was reseved for a bank or E&Y function or something like that )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is no doubt that this hotel is great. I was extending valentines day weekend for the Fiancee and I but just couldn't get a couples massage squeezed in that weekend. When i checked in at the front desk, Diego told me that he would go talk to the Spa and call me in the room. We were able to work somethign out, but had to cancel due to Friday traffic :( Thanks anyway Diego!

On a seperate note, there was a convention that weekend with a TON of teenage kids. They were no issue whatsoever but it just felt crowded as they were EVERYWHERE.

Also, we had a room that could open into the next room and the two ladies in there were talking the ENTIRE NIGHT AND VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING. It made for a really bad sleep.

The bed was NOT the issue as it was once again one of the most comfortable beds I have ever laid on.

We had breakfast in the morning at the buffet as it was included in our room price and the food was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgriffith, Director of Sales at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your second stay, and second review of the Stamford Marriott. I'm sorry time did not allow for the spa treatment in Agora Spa--maybe next time!
We occasionally have large weekend groups, so on your next stay we will make sure you get the quietist room possible--just ask the Front Desk agent at check-in to help with that. I am sorry your sleep was disrupted by people in the adjoining room.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope we can see you again soon at the Stamford Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I realize you cannot move the hotel, it is right next to the freeway. I have tried rooms on both sides of the hotel and all are loud. High floors, low floors it just doesn't change...all night traffic noise. The gym is ok, but the weight machines are showing heavy wear. Concierge lounge is nice. They have a new parking company and keys don't always work to open gate at exit. Beds are ok and the new lobby is nice. Sam's restaurant was slow!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are always clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. The gym is excellent. There is a small shop in the lobby that has Starbucks Coffee and snacks. Lots of good restaurants and a mall right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Address: 243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.