We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What you expect from Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

- nearby a small mall with a few good restaurants
- you can walk to the train station and hop to NYC for a few dollars
- business center with printers but run-down computers full of viruses that end up freezing
- we had catering as this was a business meeting - pretty good food and snacks
- it's true that you can hear the traffic on the highway
- bar in the hotel is one of the few places to have a beer on a Tuesday as there was nothing interesting available in town (the only pub-pool place was reseved for a bank or E&Y function or something like that )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    164
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
86
95
39
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is no doubt that this hotel is great. I was extending valentines day weekend for the Fiancee and I but just couldn't get a couples massage squeezed in that weekend. When i checked in at the front desk, Diego told me that he would go talk to the Spa and call me in the room. We were able to work somethign out, but had to cancel due to Friday traffic :( Thanks anyway Diego!

On a seperate note, there was a convention that weekend with a TON of teenage kids. They were no issue whatsoever but it just felt crowded as they were EVERYWHERE.

Also, we had a room that could open into the next room and the two ladies in there were talking the ENTIRE NIGHT AND VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING. It made for a really bad sleep.

The bed was NOT the issue as it was once again one of the most comfortable beds I have ever laid on.

We had breakfast in the morning at the buffet as it was included in our room price and the food was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgriffith, Director of Sales at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your second stay, and second review of the Stamford Marriott. I'm sorry time did not allow for the spa treatment in Agora Spa--maybe next time!
We occasionally have large weekend groups, so on your next stay we will make sure you get the quietist room possible--just ask the Front Desk agent at check-in to help with that. I am sorry your sleep was disrupted by people in the adjoining room.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope we can see you again soon at the Stamford Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I realize you cannot move the hotel, it is right next to the freeway. I have tried rooms on both sides of the hotel and all are loud. High floors, low floors it just doesn't change...all night traffic noise. The gym is ok, but the weight machines are showing heavy wear. Concierge lounge is nice. They have a new parking company and keys don't always work to open gate at exit. Beds are ok and the new lobby is nice. Sam's restaurant was slow!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are always clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. The gym is excellent. There is a small shop in the lobby that has Starbucks Coffee and snacks. Lots of good restaurants and a mall right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We moved our oldest daughter to Norwalk, CT this past weekend and chose this hotel as it was the closest Marriott to her location. My family and I always try to stay with Marriott while traveling and I do agree with some other reviews that this hotel could use some cosmetic upgrades. But I must say that the front desk staff here is the most pleasant and accomodating staff that I have ever dealt with. Being from North Carolina and most of my stays have been in the south...New Orleans, Savannah, GA, South Carolina, etc...I would have expected that the "Southern Hospitality" would have been far more superior than up north. The staff in Stamford was EXCELLENT!! They went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed for the room and found us a place to park our moving truck on their property .... at no charge!! The room was clean, the bed was so comfortable and the shower was fantastic. Loved the overhead shower! We will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MReeber, Manager at Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us when your travel plans included the Stamford area. We hope that your Daughter is enjoying her new place in Norwalk! We sincerely appreciate the kind comments about our Front Desk Staff and are so glad to hear that they were so helpful. See you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As a Marriott Elite, I have a very good sense of what to expect at a flagship Marriott location. This one just barely measures up. The room I stayed in was okay but certainly nothing special. The door to the room had gouges and scratches that someone had attempted to fix but they were still very obvious. The window had a lot of moisture on the inside of it, so much in fact that the carpet next to the window was soaked a good inch or two into the room. The bed was comfy, and the tv worked well. The bathroom was nice with a cool shower setup but the pocket door for the bathroom is kind of dumb in my opinion. First off, the handle for the pocket door is tiny so it wasn't very easy to operate/slide, and second, the door is thin so it does a poor job of keeping the sound in when a person is trying to shower when another person is sleeping. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. My wife went to the spa or a massage and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is about two blocks from a mall and lots of restaurants. Access to the highway is great. The rate I paid was very good and the parking was covered as part of the rate. Overall this is a decent Marriott but could be a great one if they put some more money into infrastructure.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less sound you will hear from the highway and rail station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

All I could say is that this hotel is superb! Service is awesome but the people in the front desk could put some smile on there face :) swimming pool is great since it wa a memorial weekend. Also hotel is conveniently located near the metro north accessible to NY and the plus too is there are restaurants around the area plus target I would go back here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Marriott Stamford Hotel
Marriott Stamford
Stamford Marriott
Address: 243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.