We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the tournament” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennington, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for the tournament”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was my second stay at the hotel for the annual darts tournament. The hotel did a great job. The rooms were comfortable. The conference rooms and surrounding area was great with enough space, enough tables, good lighting, and nice long bar hours. Drinks prices were reasonable. If you'd like a little variety when it comes to eating you can walk along Dresser Boulevard in the direction of the mall and they are all sorts of restaurants, from elegant and expensive down to budget-conscious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    224
    108
    43
    20
See reviews for
131
132
53
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed at the Marriott Stamford Hotel for just one night with some friends for a girls getaway. Great location, shopping mall across the street, many restaurants to choose from.

Hotel was nice, I would not say it was anything fancy. Suited our purposes. Front desk staff was not very friendly - we booked a concierge room and were given a room on a regular floor - when pointed out were told that the concierge level was full so we were given a room one floor down with access to the lounge. The room looked like a typical standard room.

Lou in the concierge lounge was super friendly and funny - we really enjoyed his company.

Would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for several weeks in summer 2011 while working in the Stamford area. I moved rooms several times during my stay, eventually settling on a king-sized room on the 9th floor facing downtown (and therefore with limited highway noise). The rooms themselves are OK (decent-sized), although you’d want to avoid those ones that face the highway. In addition, it’s disappointing that the rooms do not have an in-room safe, which I would have expected as standard in a mid-range business hotel.

The quality of housekeeping is definitely lacking. I often found that the room/hotel had not been adequately cleaned during the day (towels not changed or often simply removed and not replaced, crumbs on the floor, implying that the room had not been vacuumed, used glasses not replaced, dishes left out in the hallway for the better part of the day, etc.) and I’m also surprised at how late in the day the housecleaning would get done. Often when I would return from work at 6 or 7pm, the housecleaning would only then be getting done on my floor (again, surprising for a business hotel).

The hotel could also do with updating their guest services directory in the room. The directory states that there is a sauna and locker rooms along with the pool, although neither exists any longer. From the hotel’s response to one of the earlier reviews, the sauna has been gone since last year, so it would be reasonable to expect them to update the directory during that time.

On the plus side, the hotel has several useful services… the hotel’s shuttle is convenient for getting to work as well as the local area (e.g. train station), the wifi and wired internet services are both good, and the location is handy (despite being next to the I-95), as it’s right across the road from the Stamford Town Centre shopping mall and only a short walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have been making weekly visits to this hotel for the past 15 months and the staff at this hotel have made it feel like a home away from home. The hotel is ideally located across the street from Stamford Mall with lots of restaurants and shopping and also a short shuttle ride to the train station. With a recently renovated lobby, this hotel is very nice.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff and the service they provide. They always greet me with friendly smiling faces and are quick to ensure that I have everything that I need.

Will be staying at this hotel whenever I am in Stamford!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

As much as we love to visit NYC, I hate to pay the hundreds of dollars a night for a room and parking a car, which usually runs 65.00 per day...let along the traffic on 95 from Greenwich into Manhattan. We found a great solution. The Marriott Hotel and Spa in Stamford, CT is a wonderful option! This hotel is located directly across the street from a mall which houses Saks Fifth Ave and The Capital Grill. Also, the hotel has shuttle service which runs every fifteen minutes to the Stamford Train station, or you can take the 7 minute walk. In 44 minutes with NO TRAFFIC you pull up to beautiful Grand Central Station. Another 10 minute walk takes you to Times Square or just hang on FIfth Ave. This is pure convenience! It costs $12.00 a night to park at the Marriott in Stamford and we were greeted with an indoor/outdoor pool, workout facilities and the nicest man, Lou, at the the Conceirge Lounge...for all those Gold Marrott Members. We are planning to go back for Christmas and see the Celtics beat the NY Knicks on Christmas Day. The walk from Grand Central to Madison Square Garden will take about 20 minutes! THe best deal in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I've stayed at this Marriott on a number of occasions over the years. Its always of a good standard, though the rates are a little high. No surprises in any aspect of the stay, usaual Marriott high quality.

5-10 minute walk to downtown Stamford.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. I've been here twice this year and have been impressed on both visits by the cleanliness of the entire hotel. The rooms are spotless as are the bathrooms, hallways, and workout room. The pool is clean and has an indoor and outdoor swim area which the children loved. I especially loved that you don't smell the chlorine from the pool when you enter the building or even on the level as the pool. The staff are nice and the indoor restaurant was good also. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean confortable stay. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa

Address: 243 Tresser Boulevard, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.