We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good all in all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Park Trattoria

Columbus Park Trattoria
205 Main St Stamford, Stamford, CT 06901-2918
+1 203-967-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 406 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the heart of downtown Stamford, Columbus Park is the destination for those who appreciate fine Italian cuisine. One of three family-owned restaurants in Fairfield County, Columbus Park was voted “Best Italian Restaurant in Stamford” and consistently receives high ratings from food critics. Known for its chicken Scarpariello, home made pastas, fine service and artwork, Columbus Park can accommodate private events with up to 65 people in its private dining room, overlooking the greenery of Columbus Park. An added benefit is the outdoor seating that allows “al fresco” dining. When in the mood for elegantly prepared Italian food with exceptional ingredients, visit Columbus Park. With an extensive wine list, warm service and beautiful décor, you’ll be assured of a wonderful dining experience.
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pretty good all in all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

In Stamford for a conference, headed around the corner from the hotel to the highly recommended Columbus Park on a snowy evening. The restaurant was really full and with no reservation we didn't expect to get a table, but the maitre was very helpful, phoning a large party due later to see if they would be taking their full allocation? Sure enough a table was made available.

The menu was varied and enticing, and if I can find a fault with the otherwise impeccable service, it was that when we were just about to order they finally sprung the specials on us, causing us to revisit our choices.

I chose the roast quail with roast potatoes and spinach, with a side salad and my companion had the gnocchi. Both were delicious, although the crispy skin on the quail was a mite too salty for my taste, but I know I'm a low salt person.

We had a glass of merlot and 2 of Chardonnay and the total came to just shy of $130. Not cheap eats definitely, but worth the effort.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    21
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Itlian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pastas are exceptional and homemade. Traditional authentic Italian food served professionally. Recommended for dates and familes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Lunch with business associates was perfect. The service is the best you will experience. The waitstaff is extremely attentive. They seem to know exactly what you need before asking. Presentation and quality of food is second to none. Expensive but well worth the experience. I give this restaurant my top recommendation. Expect the best! If you are not familiar with the area, I suggest you call ahead for directions to a parking lot near by. Reservations are suggested as the dining area is small.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Food in Stamford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This family owned restaurant has been serving the best Italian food in Stamford for decades. Located in the downtown area, it offers an array of dishes, each with home-made pasta. Although a bit pricy, once you taste the food, you'll agree it's worth the price. Service is attentive. Parking is tight, but there's a nearby municipal parking garage.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had not been to Columbus Park in many years, but it is very convenient for dinner after the movies at the Majestic Theatre. We decided to give it a try with two other couples. We had a nice table by the window in front. The only problem was that the waiter had put two of the appetizers into the computer incorrectly. It was quickly remedied and the waiter was apologetic. The service was very good, water glasses were filled often, and the food was excellent. My friend and I shares a wonderful Tricolore salad and two entrees, a trout and chicken dish. Both were very good. A nice cappucino topped off my meal. No real complaints and would go back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Park Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Park Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Park Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.