We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid as a rock...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Park Trattoria

Columbus Park Trattoria
205 Main St Stamford, Stamford, CT 06901-2918
203-967-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 389 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the heart of downtown Stamford, Columbus Park is the destination for those who appreciate fine Italian cuisine. One of three family-owned restaurants in Fairfield County, Columbus Park was voted “Best Italian Restaurant in Stamford” and consistently receives high ratings from food critics. Known for its chicken Scarpariello, home made pastas, fine service and artwork, Columbus Park can accommodate private events with up to 65 people in its private dining room, overlooking the greenery of Columbus Park. An added benefit is the outdoor seating that allows “al fresco” dining. When in the mood for elegantly prepared Italian food with exceptional ingredients, visit Columbus Park. With an extensive wine list, warm service and beautiful décor, you’ll be assured of a wonderful dining experience.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Solid as a rock...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My favorite type of restaurant, 15 tables, visible kitchen, active bar, owner involved. The owner (or his son, not certain) tended to our needs, recommended an intiail pasta course for the table, treated us to housemade lemonicello after dinner. Dinner was of the highest quality. Party of seven had a variety of dishes, all reported very strong. These included Atlantic Char, Veal Torintino, Gnochi with Bolognese, Ossobucco. I had the Ossobucco, very beautifully done, well established recipe, tender, incredible sauce.

The restaurant was full by 6:30 on a Wednesday, quarters a little tight, crowd more professional than social. However, as a high quality restaurant experience, this place is hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    61
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

we arrived in Stamford as a stopover night before hitting the big apple. we chose a hotel from an online site uncertain as to what our experience wild be like. We walked around the corner and found a street of great food options. Having chosen the Columbus park Trattoria we were very impressed by the quality of the service and food.This is a restaurant which is family own and has been in existence foe the past 25 years. The passion for food and connection with the patrons seemed obvious. We felt the price was reasonable for the quality we received. If we lived closer than Australia we would be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Always a favorite for a good meal and a nice staff. The prices are high but at least you know you are getting something good. Worthy of a special occasion.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent but bring your wallet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Service and food are excellent. On the downside the restaurant and bar area are cramped primarily because it is always full. I have eaten here several times and it is consistently very good. The service is the best instamford. Grandma's homemade ravioli in sage and butter sauce was to some of the best pasta dishes I have ever had. Wine list is extensive with many delicious choices but unfortunately you have to pay a premium here. You get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Years and years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Started coming to this restaurant in 1995 and it's just gotten better over the years. It's the real deal when it comes to Italian - anywhere bar none. Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Park Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Park Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Park Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.