We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Years and years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Park Trattoria

Columbus Park Trattoria
205 Main St Stamford, Stamford, CT 06901-2918
203-967-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 387 restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the heart of downtown Stamford, Columbus Park is the destination for those who appreciate fine Italian cuisine. One of three family-owned restaurants in Fairfield County, Columbus Park was voted “Best Italian Restaurant in Stamford” and consistently receives high ratings from food critics. Known for its chicken Scarpariello, home made pastas, fine service and artwork, Columbus Park can accommodate private events with up to 65 people in its private dining room, overlooking the greenery of Columbus Park. An added benefit is the outdoor seating that allows “al fresco” dining. When in the mood for elegantly prepared Italian food with exceptional ingredients, visit Columbus Park. With an extensive wine list, warm service and beautiful décor, you’ll be assured of a wonderful dining experience.
Co Clare
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Years and years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Started coming to this restaurant in 1995 and it's just gotten better over the years. It's the real deal when it comes to Italian - anywhere bar none. Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    59
    14
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The only reason I am giving this 4 stars is the price is stupid high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

LOVE the food. Their home made pasta is to die for. And its worth the price but you completely get jacked on the Wine prices. So just watch that if you are going to go there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Simply excellent in every way. Delicious, authentic Italian food. Bustling, every table booked, but still good service and not too noisy so that you could not comfortably talk with your dinner companions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you want excellent Italian food in a little trattoria/cafe you have found the place.

Osso Bucco was tender and flavorful

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Now, that's Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were directed to the Columbus Park Trattoria by our hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased.

We were greeted warmly and promptly seated. Our server immediately came over, introduced himself and drinks were ordered. Throughout dinner, service was outstanding. All members of the staff operate as team and nothing is ignored or left to chance.

Our food was thoughtfully prepared and we couldn't have asked for anything better. The restaurant is known for their homemade pasta (which is cooked to sheer perfection!) and bread. No bottled red sauce served here!

For starters, we ordered the Fava Bean soup -- absolutely the best we've ever eaten! We each ordered a seafood infused linguine dish and the blend of garlic, herbs and white wine sauces were outstanding. Hubby ordered the Linguine San Giovanni (plump shrimp, sun dried tomatoes, anchovies) and I had the evening's pasta special which also included shrimp and fresh tomatoes.

Not ones to ususally order dessert, we were tempted by the chocolate gelato. Smooth, creamy and intensely flavored dark chocolate made this "ice cream" a 5* light finish to our meal.

This is a restaurant not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Park Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Park Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Park Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.