We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Park Trattoria

Columbus Park Trattoria
205 Main St Stamford, Stamford, CT 06901-2918
+1 203-967-9191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 378 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In the heart of downtown Stamford, Columbus Park is the destination for those who appreciate fine Italian cuisine. One of three family-owned restaurants in Fairfield County, Columbus Park was voted “Best Italian Restaurant in Stamford” and consistently receives high ratings from food critics. Known for its chicken Scarpariello, home made pastas, fine service and artwork, Columbus Park can accommodate private events with up to 65 people in its private dining room, overlooking the greenery of Columbus Park. An added benefit is the outdoor seating that allows “al fresco” dining. When in the mood for elegantly prepared Italian food with exceptional ingredients, visit Columbus Park. With an extensive wine list, warm service and beautiful décor, you’ll be assured of a wonderful dining experience.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
366 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you want excellent Italian food in a little trattoria/cafe you have found the place.

Osso Bucco was tender and flavorful

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    28
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Now, that's Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were directed to the Columbus Park Trattoria by our hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased.

We were greeted warmly and promptly seated. Our server immediately came over, introduced himself and drinks were ordered. Throughout dinner, service was outstanding. All members of the staff operate as team and nothing is ignored or left to chance.

Our food was thoughtfully prepared and we couldn't have asked for anything better. The restaurant is known for their homemade pasta (which is cooked to sheer perfection!) and bread. No bottled red sauce served here!

For starters, we ordered the Fava Bean soup -- absolutely the best we've ever eaten! We each ordered a seafood infused linguine dish and the blend of garlic, herbs and white wine sauces were outstanding. Hubby ordered the Linguine San Giovanni (plump shrimp, sun dried tomatoes, anchovies) and I had the evening's pasta special which also included shrimp and fresh tomatoes.

Not ones to ususally order dessert, we were tempted by the chocolate gelato. Smooth, creamy and intensely flavored dark chocolate made this "ice cream" a 5* light finish to our meal.

This is a restaurant not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich CT
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Why go elsewhere?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My friends and I were looking for someplace new to dine, when we concluded why would we go somewhere else when we could go to Columbus Park Trattoria. Once again, we were not disappointed. The food was superb, the service attentive and prompt, the ambiance pleasant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Columbus Park is one of those places that I will always happily return on any occasion. No matter what you order it will be amazing. The service is great and all members of stuff very helpful. The prices are on the higher end but it's worth every single penny. I think that along with Sienna Ristorante, Columbus Park has the best italian food in Stamford.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must for good Italian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have been here a few times in the past. Always has been very good. This last time I was in a group of about 35 people. The staff handled it wonderfully. Appetizers were excellent, shrimp with avocado, a cured meat and cheese platter, calamari, all good. As an entree ii had a homemade pasta with fava beans, sausage and cherry peppers, wow! Everyone was quite pleased with their food order.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Park Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Columbus Park Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Park Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.