We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Bretagne

La Bretagne
2010 W Main St, Stamford, CT 06902
203-324-9539
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 407 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No air conditioning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just came back from this restaurant on Friday July 26. The food was very good but you could not get the full enjoyment from it because of the hot temperature in the place. I asked if they could turn up the air conditioning but they could not. It was a miserable evening and I don't understand why they could not use fans or anything to make it bearable.The sweat was pouring from my forehead, it was a horrible experience not to be able to enjoy the food.
Sincerely,
Mrs Carin Lanefski

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Time machines must exist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A true throw back to a prior era. Ambiance is that of a restaurant of the 50's or 60's. service is excellent. Menu likely hasn't changed in a generation. Many of the entrees are plated table side in the true, old fashion way. Food is excellent, presentation that of another era. Clientele is anything but young. Thought I might look up at any moment a see a fishnet stocking clad cigarette girl selling Phillip Morris. Although food and service excellent I look for a different experience in dining out. I would imagine that it might be a nice place to bring retired parents as it likely would invoke some nostalgia. Somewhat perplexed in the rating as the food & service excellent but the experience is something different from what I am looking for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Classic French Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is really classic French not "modernised country continental" now found in the "best" restaurants in Connecticut. It has the old fashioned handwritten menu with all the old favorites including Escargot, Beef Bourginion, Roast Duck a la Orange and terrific Ris de Veau. The atmosphere and menu are authentic and the service and food are excellent. It is a close to best of rural 1950/s France as you can get around here and as a bonus the chairs are comfortable and the tables are far enough apart that you can talk to and hear the others in your party. Vive le ancien regime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“If You Like French Food, This is The Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is my wife's favorite place to go on special occasions. Authentic French food, old world service, a pricy, but fair, menu. Located near the Stamford/Old Greenwich border, and just off I-95, it's easy to get to and not too difficult to get into. Reservations help.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time & No Rushing Allowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is nothing hip or in about La Bretagne, but if
you relish old world service, Good basic French food,
having the peace and time to converse with friends, this is your place.
I often feel as if I've stepped into a movie while here.
The clientele is generally older and most probably wiser and remember
how restaurants were in the 1970's & 1980's.
Think small local, neighborhood restaurant in France with 1970 decor .
You'll love it!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bretagne also viewed

 

Been to La Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bretagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.