We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a sports bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bobby Valentine's Sports Gallery

Bobby Valentine's Sports Gallery
225 Main St, Stamford, CT 06901-2918
+1 203-348-0010
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 402 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average for a sports bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The server took quite a while to come back to our table each time. For a sports bar, the food was alright. Good atmosphere but wait staff could be more attentive, especially since it was not very busy.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went with a co-worker to Bobby V's on 12.19 at about 2 p.m. Sat down at a table that was a bit wobbly. Waitress with interesting hair cut (hair was braided, but the left side of her scalp was shaved) brought over menus. She seemed pleasant. We ordered a lemonade and an iced tea. Bringing back our drinks, I ordered a grilled chicken salad w/ranch dressing and my co-worker ordered a burger and fries. About 20 minutes later, our food arrived, and I was a bit surprised as I got a 'fried' chicken salad stuffed into a small cracker like bowl w/chopped up bacon strips. I recall ordering a grilled chicken salad, not fried. Do they not have grilled chicken? I have no idea. However, the salad with the bacon bits was quite good. What I was not impressed with at all, and found very bland, was the fried chicken strips. The chicken strips really need better seasoning. I was practically eating strips of unseasoned fried chicken! The bacon gave the salad its flavor, not the chicken! The entire bill came out to $21 not including tax.

On a side note, their wings are pretty good. I have had these on other occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Sports Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This sports bar is a Stamford tradition.

The food is very good (Try the chopped salad.), the prices are quite reasonable, and the TVs are excellent. If you sit at the bar, you can rub elbows with lost of Stamford locals. If you sit in the dining room, you can have more privacy and your own table, although you will be surrounded with sports on TV.

And Bobby V makes the rounds from time to time, handing out little keepsakes to small fans.

Outstanding!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really bad burger on a weekday night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went in for a quick dinner. Had one of the worst burgers in recent memory. Definitely never ordering food there again. Decent place to have a beer. Btw, the place was smelling of the hookah smell from the next door falafel place that has a water pipe service outside. They should look in to this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best sports bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

For over 30 years the best sports bar In the USA!! Great food, great everything. Must go. Bobby V's does it right

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby Valentine's Sports Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Bobby Valentine's Sports Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobby Valentine's Sports Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.