We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OLE Mole

OLE Mole
1030 High Rdg Rd, Stamford, CT 06905-1605
(203) 461-9962
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #50 of 384 restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food is authentic but the service for even take out is inconsistent. Usually wait 10 minutes just to take out black bean soup, which is worth it, but still....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    8
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

So impressed with the food, everything was fresh and really fantastic. Absolutely no problem for vegetarians like us to find great options here, and they were happy to customize our order even further.. and all for a very reasonable price. Also - their salsa is great! We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been ordering from ole mole for about 15 years. It is a wonderful, fresh mexican restaurant/take out place. The salsa is so fresh and delicious that once you have tried theirs, i doubt you will EVER eat salsa from a jar again! We usually only take out from there instead of eating in. It is very small inside the restaurant which is fine if you are stopping for a quick bite to eat. We just prefer to eat it at home and enjoy a bottle (or two) of wine with it, Our regular orders are the chipotle chicken wings (they are not too hot or anything - just really flavorful), all of their quesidillas are wonderful, beef and pork tacos (yes, their pork tacos are amazing!), and, of course - the salsa fresca. We get a full pint for a family of four. The half pint is just never enough b/c it is so delicious. Also the chicken and shrimp fahitas - generous portions with the best guacamole ever right in the center!! Their chips are unsalted, authentic and fresh. The perfect compiment to the salsa. The prices are reasonable if you order a la carte. Sometimes when we order a quesidilla special we are suprised that is is more money, but they do come with side orders of rice and beans, so they are more of a meal. The specials that they have are always fun to check on b/c they are very different than anything else I have seen at any other mexican place. Service is ALWAYS friendly and fast. Through the years they have maybe forgotten something in our order 4(?) times. We eat their once a week on average for 15 years so that is pretty good! I have called right away when I get home to tell them that something was left out and they are soooo apologetic and of course will just reimburse us the next time. My husband and I have joked that if we ever move we will have to have ole mole sala delivered to us at any price! i must also mention that the salsa does change with the seasons b/c of the tomatoes, Just FYi - there have been times that it is amazing and times that it is only great. But it definitely does have a different taste from time to time as any fresh food would. As far as it being different than other mexican places i like the fact that everything is very light and not gobbed with heavy cheeses and sauces. They will of course make some dishes like that and make anything to your liking, but I prefer to be able to actually taste the food instead of feeling like it is being hidden in a sauce and cheese. We actually have family and friends request ole mole when they come visit. They have taken the salsa to go on their way out from visiting us. THIS IS A PLACE THAT YOU HAVE TO TRY!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Discovered this little place on a trip home from NJ to MA, and we now make a point of stopping every time. Perfect for a quick meal, friendly staff, delicious food. Burrito Carnitas are delicious, and they will gladly spice any meal up. It's a different type of Mexican, but in a very good way. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is food from the west coast of Mexico, as I was told once when I first visited the restaurant. Limited seating, friendly staff, GREAT shrimp tostadas, great tamales, flan, good selection of drinks (American and Mexican). Not great parking though. Usually get food "to-go" from here, weekly!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OLE Mole also viewed

 

Been to OLE Mole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OLE Mole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.