We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but poor breakfast and fitness room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, NH
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good, but poor breakfast and fitness room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Hampton is in a nice quiet area of Stamford. Can spit to the downtown, which had nice shopping. The hotel and room was clean and comfortable Only complaint about the room was the lack of cool air from the climate control, but luckily, I was able to open a window. The breakfast was horrible, per usual for a Hampton. The scrambled eggs (if you can call them that) were barely edible, and the meats were of poor quality. Fitness room contained one treadmill, one elliptical, and one seated bike, all of poor quality (in fact the brand name was something like Hotel Fitness) There was one barely usable universal machine, and that was about it. I would return return, but will go off-property for breakfast and a gym.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It is nice to hear you think the hotel is in a good location and is quiet. I would like to apologize for the breakfast. We regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the hot breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers hot, fresh and healthy options. Our goal is to provide a variety of alternatives to accommodate diverse health and food preferences and our choices now include sausage, scrambled eggs, muffins, pastries, hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    97
    39
    24
    7
See reviews for
109
52
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is convenient and reasonably priced. Free parking is available on site, and you are within walking distance of downtown Stamford.

The highs:
Hotel is overall clean, staff was friendly and free breakfast onsite made it easy to lug the kids down there in the morning. We booked a suite, which was quite large. We enjoyed having a DVD hookup in the room so the kids could watch movies.

The lows:
Our room, although nonsmoking, had a musty, smoky odor. The breakfast buffet was on the lame side. Good coffee, but the biscuits were like rocks and the eggs seemed like were made in the microwave. Can't complain about free, but it was not impressive.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, convenient place to stay. No major complaints, just not dazzled.

Room Tip: I thought the suite was worth a $25 upgrade, if you have a few ppl in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are glad to have met your needs for location and value in the area and apologize you were disappointed in our breakfast offerings. We will use your comments as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction and we hope you will stay with us again should you find yourself in our area in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When we go to New York City, we like to stay out side the city the night before or on the way out. There is no need to pay $200+++ for a short visit to the city. For under $100 we had a fantastic room, a good selection of restaurants and were able to get tijto the city on a Saturday morning in about 30 minutes!

Hampton Inns are always a great value, and this one in Stamford is no exception. We wil stay there again.

Room Tip: When we stay here view is not one of the things we think about. THe property is in the business sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
 Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We Enjoyed our stay at this Hotel, very Friendly staff and nice clean rooms and lobby area, seemed very safe as well.Very close to train station and a short ride to NYC, really like the breakfast buffet, room was very nice and quite, did have the fire alarm go off but once we went downstairs staff told us it was a false alarm, no chaos, everyone was nice and orderly. We ordered take out both nights, local pizza was ok, local Japanese was good as well, we shared apps and entree. Glad they have 'Coke" machines and not Pepsi!!! lol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Coke machines during your stay with us.  Your complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
720 reviews 720 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is nice looking and resonably priced. There is a restaurant/bar in the hotel but opens later in the afternoon so is not open for lunch. The food was ok but nothing great. There are other hotels with better locations near the downtown Stamford area walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping but if you are looking for reasonable priced, clean rooms, I think this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
If you are looking for reasonable priced, clean rooms, I think this hotel is a good option, was a very nice thing to say about our hotel. We are sorry the restaurant/bar is not open earlier but we always look for ways to improve and will take your comments into consideration. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times over the past few years when visiting Greenwich for sports competitions. We have also stayed at some other, larger full service chain hotels but keep coming back to this hotel due to the value.

The rooms are comfortable, the king suites especially great when traveling with kids as it gives you more room to spread out with a sofa and full counter area with microwave and refrigerator.

Breakfast is plentiful and they were renovating the breakfast area on our last stay and it looks like it will be very contemporary and spacious. Parking is free (unlike many other of the full service hotels who charge $10.00 per night) and covered in a garage connected to the hotel.

It is not in an area of Stamford that would allow for walking and shopping etc, but downtown Greenwich is 10 minutes away, and there is a mall in Stamford very nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It is always nice to hear from our return visitors here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The lobby is closed -- it's under renovation. They don't make checking in an easy or friendly experience. Basically you have to go into the cramped back office to check in.

The hotel is not in a great part of town. The parking lot is not secure, so I didn't feel great about parking my car there overnight.

The rooms, while clean, need some updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#5 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.