We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel isn't bad but not walking distance from much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Hotel isn't bad but not walking distance from much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is nice looking and resonably priced. There is a restaurant/bar in the hotel but opens later in the afternoon so is not open for lunch. The food was ok but nothing great. There are other hotels with better locations near the downtown Stamford area walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping but if you are looking for reasonable priced, clean rooms, I think this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
If you are looking for reasonable priced, clean rooms, I think this hotel is a good option, was a very nice thing to say about our hotel. We are sorry the restaurant/bar is not open earlier but we always look for ways to improve and will take your comments into consideration. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    79
    38
    21
    4
See reviews for
98
43
12
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times over the past few years when visiting Greenwich for sports competitions. We have also stayed at some other, larger full service chain hotels but keep coming back to this hotel due to the value.

The rooms are comfortable, the king suites especially great when traveling with kids as it gives you more room to spread out with a sofa and full counter area with microwave and refrigerator.

Breakfast is plentiful and they were renovating the breakfast area on our last stay and it looks like it will be very contemporary and spacious. Parking is free (unlike many other of the full service hotels who charge $10.00 per night) and covered in a garage connected to the hotel.

It is not in an area of Stamford that would allow for walking and shopping etc, but downtown Greenwich is 10 minutes away, and there is a mall in Stamford very nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It is always nice to hear from our return visitors here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The lobby is closed -- it's under renovation. They don't make checking in an easy or friendly experience. Basically you have to go into the cramped back office to check in.

The hotel is not in a great part of town. The parking lot is not secure, so I didn't feel great about parking my car there overnight.

The rooms, while clean, need some updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just another Hampton Inn. You know what to expect. This one was a little older than most I've stayed in. But it was still just fine for a one night overnight. Consistent quality and service. The location was great. Easy to find and right in downtown Stamford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel entrance and room were very clean,staff was friendly and helpful. free parking and breakfast,good location. There is a on site reasturant, but hotel is a short walk from outdoor dining and shopping areas. No pool or hot tub, i think there was exercize room. We enjoyed our stay and the area near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

First off I checked in after a very long day of traveling and there was 1 person working the front desk... a guy kept coming out of thr back office and finally after 10 minutes of waiting he checked me in. I ended up in a huge corner suite that recked of smoke, had to change my room after a few hours it got so bad. The whole floor was "non-smoking" but every night I smelled smoke going to my room. It was an awful experience, switched to the Hyatt regency and it was 1000 times better but the location is kind of rural.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. I understand the freshness of the room was of concern during your stay and I apologize for the unpleasant smoke smell. While we do have designated non-smoking rooms and we do our best to keep those rooms fresh, we agree this is an area we need to work harder in. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here w/ my wife using it as a home base for day trips to Rye, NY and NYC. King Room was clean and comfortable. Would have preferred to have the key card to our room work for the whole stay, but was locked out on day 2. Front Desk explained that it happens sometimes. Never happened when real keys were used in the past I replied. Bottom line I can only offer this place an AVERAGE rating. Other Hamptons are more customer-focused.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of the key problem. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#3 Family Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.