We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just another Hampton Inn. You know what to expect. This one was a little older than most I've stayed in. But it was still just fine for a one night overnight. Consistent quality and service. The location was great. Easy to find and right in downtown Stamford.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are glad to hear how much you liked our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    86
    38
    22
    5
See reviews for
103
45
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel entrance and room were very clean,staff was friendly and helpful. free parking and breakfast,good location. There is a on site reasturant, but hotel is a short walk from outdoor dining and shopping areas. No pool or hot tub, i think there was exercize room. We enjoyed our stay and the area near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the your stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

First off I checked in after a very long day of traveling and there was 1 person working the front desk... a guy kept coming out of thr back office and finally after 10 minutes of waiting he checked me in. I ended up in a huge corner suite that recked of smoke, had to change my room after a few hours it got so bad. The whole floor was "non-smoking" but every night I smelled smoke going to my room. It was an awful experience, switched to the Hyatt regency and it was 1000 times better but the location is kind of rural.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshna Y, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. I understand the freshness of the room was of concern during your stay and I apologize for the unpleasant smoke smell. While we do have designated non-smoking rooms and we do our best to keep those rooms fresh, we agree this is an area we need to work harder in. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here w/ my wife using it as a home base for day trips to Rye, NY and NYC. King Room was clean and comfortable. Would have preferred to have the key card to our room work for the whole stay, but was locked out on day 2. Front Desk explained that it happens sometimes. Never happened when real keys were used in the past I replied. Bottom line I can only offer this place an AVERAGE rating. Other Hamptons are more customer-focused.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your thoughts.Your feedback is essential to our future success! Unwelcome problems can always arise, but our goal is to have them addressed promptly by staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of the key problem. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and warmly welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We made reservations at this hotel 30 minutes before arrival and glad we did. What a nice hotel overlooking the city. It has a free parking garage "attached" to the hotel. The king bed suite room is huge and well appointed. Very clean. We were only there for about seven hours. Ate breakfast in the lobby which was very good and then hit the road. What staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our short night stay.

Room Tip: King bed suites are huge. Our room had a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests, even the short stay ones, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review. We hope to see you again when you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped for an overnight with family on the way to a service in upper Manhattan. Great location . I think we got into the city in less than an hour. Room was very clean,king bed was so comfortable....loved it. Good night's sleep. Very interesting restaurant at the hotel....quite extensive Indian menu. Also had traditional American bar fare. Cant remember bartender's name, but he was very friendly and helpful, both with the Indian menu choices and directions to Manhattan. Who knew....an Irish bartender in an Indian restaurant in a hotel in Stamford, who went to Columbia and knew everything about N.Y. Perfect.
Breakfast was great too..not just continental....eggs, sausage, fruit,waffles...everything and in a comfortable setting.
All in all,very nice hotel and a great value close to N.Y.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
  Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the King Room here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you're on the road and don't want to stay in NYC this is a great hotel. We first stopped at La Quinta and it looked pretty shady. The Hampton Inn wasn't just spacious and clean but nice. The breakfast was nice and although we wwere there for just over 12 hours it was enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are delighted to know you had a "good nights sleep" here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and hope to see you again when travel plans permit! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Address: 26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stamford
#2 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.