We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value,Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value,Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stopped for an overnight with family on the way to a service in upper Manhattan. Great location . I think we got into the city in less than an hour. Room was very clean,king bed was so comfortable....loved it. Good night's sleep. Very interesting restaurant at the hotel....quite extensive Indian menu. Also had traditional American bar fare. Cant remember bartender's name, but he was very friendly and helpful, both with the Indian menu choices and directions to Manhattan. Who knew....an Irish bartender in an Indian restaurant in a hotel in Stamford, who went to Columbia and knew everything about N.Y. Perfect.
Breakfast was great too..not just continental....eggs, sausage, fruit,waffles...everything and in a comfortable setting.
All in all,very nice hotel and a great value close to N.Y.C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
  Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the King Room here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    65
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
80
33
11
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you're on the road and don't want to stay in NYC this is a great hotel. We first stopped at La Quinta and it looked pretty shady. The Hampton Inn wasn't just spacious and clean but nice. The breakfast was nice and although we wwere there for just over 12 hours it was enough for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are delighted to know you had a "good nights sleep" here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford and hope to see you again when travel plans permit! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

ok so its not 5 STAR big whoop....You get a really clean room, nice tv, and the king bed is AWSOME....and if you get the corner rooms on the floor "mostly suites" THEY ARE HUGE!!!!

and OK the best part FREE WIFI & BREAKFAST!!! WHO DOES THAT...
Great for the price....Free Garage Parking..DnD...SHELL Gas... right down the road...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Your complimentary review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford is much appreciated! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the free wifi and breakfast during your stay with us. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, KY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed on our way out of NYC going to NH. Rooms were huge and comfortable, but it was a bit noisy for my taste due to street noise and heavy doors that slam very loudly. The staff was very nice and it was a clean hotel with close-by parking. The mall and restaurants are nearby but I would drive to them as it may not be a safe area to walk. I would probably not stay there again due to the noise.

Room Tip: I only have the one night for reference, but maybe a room off the front side of the hotel would be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret you had problems with the noise. We look forward to having a second chance to exceed your expectations, and will warmly welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The beds are very comfortable. Clean Rooms, friendly service. There was an event in the hotel and security did a great job by controlling the noise in the evening. Upon checkout, front desk staff great and breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to NYC. The hotel was easy to find. The woman at check in was very friendly as was the man at check out. Our room was very spacious and clean. There was a good size fridge and a microwave. The room was quiet and we couldn't hear the neighbours. There was a large breakfast area and plenty to choose from. Parking is free! There is a nearby shopping mall.

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We hope to see you again when you travel back to Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A decent Hampton property located within walking distance of the city. The parking is covered ,and the staff are very courteous and knowledgeable about the area. I would advise driving to local restaurants as the surrounding area may not be safe during the evening hours.
My reservation was correct, but I was accidentally booking into a room with two beds. The front desk moved me, but the room's A/C had not been activated. No problem, the room had sufficiently cooled after I returned from dinner. The staff recommended a great local pub inside the city. While it was a short walk, I did have to cross through several questionable areas. To their credit, the staff did offer their shuttle service to drive me.
The room was comfortable and clean, though someone kept slamming their doors during the night. I checked the hallway after a few late night slams, but there was no one to be found. I would suggest adding soft door closers or posting signs. This seems to work for Hilton.
Breakfast was the usual Hampton fare, but it was hot and well prepared. The manager's reception at night was a nice touch. Discounting the door slams, this was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
 Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. We pride ourselves in being service professionals here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford. We will take your suggestion concerning the doors up at our next meeting. Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Stamford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford
Address: 26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stamford
#3 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.