We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly pleasant experince, seriously” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly pleasant experince, seriously”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard Stamford for two nights over this past NYE weekend. I stayed here as a cheaper alternative to staying in NYC and can't understate how great an experience I had. The room was clean, modern and spacious. I asked for a "quiet " room because I have difficulty sleeping as it is without having to listen to loud/strange noises you often hear in a hotel. It was SILENT at night, I slept like a log. The train station was about 5 minutes away, very easy to get back and forth to NYC ( 40 minutes). Coming back to the hotel after a long day of walking was delightful as I soaked in the hot tub for way too long. I had the entire pool area to myself and relaxed to the soothing music they had playing. The breakfast I had both mornings at NAPA was great, big omellette , hash browns and sausage, plus fresh squezed OJ, were a perfect start to the day. I highly recommend this hotel. I can't wait to go back. Thanks Courtyard!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    58
    17
    9
    0
See reviews for
35
37
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed several times and have come to enjoy the safe, clean and good location in Stamford.

The room was a good size with great TV (HD), staff friendly.

Great for local shopping, restaurants and access to the train service to NYC.

Only minor issues being the internet service was difficult to connect to for us and not as fast as I was expecting. Had to keep login over the couple of days we were there for our iPhones, iPads and laptops!. Also I feel it is a bit expensive for weekday stay compared to other hotels close by. No free breakfast only coffee/tea. We checked out and stayed elsewhere for the weekdays for our week long holiday.

Would stay again but only if the rate is lower in the week, the weekend deals were value for money and would do again if in Stamford.

A good weekend stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed here and the hotel is well maintained and in a wonderful location to get to anywhere in Stamford. The rooms are very clean and the front desk staff helpful and valet on the car and only $10.00 for parking along with great valet service is well worth it.
The only complaint we have is the breakfast and while the quality is very good the pricing is more like New York City. Ex;ample an Ice Tea is $4.00 whereas the high priced restaurants are $2.50 or so./ No argument about it because it is convenient and I an musing the Ice Tea as an example only as other items follow the same pricing pattern.
That beins said we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and staff and location-

Room Tip: All rooms are decent size for a couple and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This best looking hotel in Stamford, fantastic location.Within 3 blocks of this hotel contains about 2 dozen retaurants and bars. The mall is two blocks away, great restaurant in the lobby. The only draw back is that hotel parking is by valet only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Three of us stayed here for a nice girls weekend. This hotel is perfect, as it is centrally located, next to all the restaurants and shopping that Stamford has to offer. We walked everywhere and did not need a car all weekend. Very impressed with the $10 valet overnight parking. Beats the prices we pay in Philly.
The hotel itself was very nice. Our room was clean, modernly decorated and we booked a terrace room, which had an outside patio area, very private. This would have been nicer if the weather was warmer, but we are already talking about coming back in the summer to enjoy it.
The hotel has a bar and restaurant attached. We did not go to the bar, but saw people in it. Very nice for a night cap after a dinner out. The restaurant was ok for breakfast. Upscale food, but not executed perfectly. There are so many other great places in Stamford (Barcelona across the street is outstanding!), that I would not eat at this restaurant.

Highly recommend for a nice business or leisure stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a terrace room. Worth it for $10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

There were a couple of nice things about this hotel: the bathroom was nice and the hookup to the TV offered easy hdmi access (though no cable was supplied). The restaurant off the lobby was first rate--one of the better restaurants in the city in my opinion.
But since they didn't give me the room I had reserved (on their own web site!) and could find any way to make it right, I say find a hotel that actually cares about their customers or at least understands what a reservation is for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Clean facilities; easy access to a variety of dining and entertainment options; fast front desk service; limited parking options; location could not be better; small lobby; valet parking can be a minor hassle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown

Address: 275 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stamford Downtown Hotel Stamford
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Stamford Courtyard
Stamford Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.