We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Theatre Film Center

Avon Theatre Film Center
272 Bedford Street, Stamford, CT 06901
203-967-3660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Activities in Stamford
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Avon Theatre features the best of independent, documentary, foreign films and Hollywood classics, and educational programming that enhances the cultural richness of the Stamford community. The Avon is a non-profit, member-supported organization that has been described as an eclectic and whimsical picture house. The theatre is highlighted by an original exterior facade, framed by a restored vertical "AVON" marquee that lights up the Connecticut sky at night.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Home Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

IGrew up in Stamford and spent a lot of time in the Avon back in the 40s up to 63 even was an usher when in SHS High School. Its a different theater now 60years is a long time,will be back this summer for 60 class reunion I all see it then

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great movie theater in our neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

As soon as we moved downtown last June we joined as senior members of this theater (theatre). We have seen a number of regular feature movies and special presentations.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best of what movie theaters were all about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This movie theater will bring you back! The renovation is beautiful, the seats are truly comfortable and the staff always wears a smile. Whomever chooses the movies that are shown does an incredible job; I can always trust that the movie will be good, even if I've never heard of it - somehow, they always pick the best!! I love supporting such a great place that provides affordable culture, historical integrity and neighborhood charm ~ Bravo Avon!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avon Theatre in Stamford, CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Avon Theatre is an old time original movie theatre saved from urban renewal.
It features top movies that don't always go to the more commercial movie theatres
including foreign films.
The entrance fees are comparable to the commercial theatres. But one can join for an annual
fee and have reduced prices for each film.
They also feature live talks with top film makers and actors like Gene Wilder, a Stamford resident.
The Avon Theatre is located on the gentrified Bedford Street featuring many restaurants with out door sidewalk seating in the warm weather months.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Movie Theatre - old style and a bit smaller that the new ones out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This movie theatre is a nice, clean and old style feel. It shows a variety of films and even has movie nights and celebrities that come in to speak about the movie they were in. Price is the going rate. snacks, goodies available. Bring quarters for parking, just to be safe.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avon Theatre Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Avon Theatre Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Theatre Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.