We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navaratna

Navaratna
133 Atlantic St, Stamford, CT 06901-2424
203-348-1070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Navaratna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 427 Restaurants in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place far exceeded my expectations. We stopped on a road trip only because it was on the way... and now we are sorry we don't live in Stamford! The food is totally authentic... evidenced by the fact they had a full house and other than us there was only one other non-Indian table. They have south Indian specialties in addition to the usual northern fare, which was a real treat. We had 6 different dishes and all were delicious and even the curries we were very familiar with came out a cut above those made by our favorite veg. Indian place in Manhattan. I especially recommend the Alleppy curry and the malai kofta. We did not try the dosi but they were very popular and also looked and smelled great. The place is a little small and you have to walk through the bus area to get to the restrooms, but that was completely overshadowed by the wonderful food. We plan to make this place a regular stopping point on all road trips north, and would recommend it to anyone who likes Indian food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place has got some great Indian vegetarian food. It is perfect for almost any sort of meal no matter if it is breakfast, dinner or just a small snack. The place is also quite clean and the staff are quite quick to respond to your orders and demands. Last but not the least the place offers amazing value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Got to try!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great food and service. Menu is very diversed for vegetarian India. The atmosphere is quaint and very casual. The patio is great in the warm weather months.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1191foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

They get 4/5 for food, 5/5 for prices and 2/5 for ambience... great place for take out though - 5/5 for that as well

I have tried their hara bhara kebab, samosa chaat, dahi puri and schezwan idli and the taste is awesome!!

Their dosas are usually great, the paneer-spring dosa was an exception... it took long to arrive (spring dosas always do) and the paneer was a bit dried out. But the rava onion dosa totally made up for the loss ;)

They could probably do better by removing the bar and redecorating a bit... but once the food arrives I cannot care less about the decor... i go there often and plan to keep trying out their menu items.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lv_roadtrip_4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our first visit was for the idly sambhar which was so authentic and yummy I was transported to one of the south indian restuarants in mumbai. We had to go back and we tried the south indian thali prepare to be surprised by it all we just couldnt stop eating each and every item in the thali (probably some 8-10 odd) was delicious and well made right down to the curd rice and topped with the mango lassi. It was the perfect meal. The service is good too. Best restuarant in stamford for vegetarian food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust8077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navaratna also viewed

 

Been to Navaratna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing