We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern England
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great location, very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Compared to European HI Expresses, this one is in a different class. I had a quiet, spacious room with a large bed and a full bath. The hairdryer didn't work, but one was very promptly brought up by housekeeping. Breakfast was lifted by a variety of oatmeals and a pancake machine along with the traditional cinnamon buns found in all US HIEs. Located about a mile from downtown (on a bus route) and less than 2 miles from the train station, I found this to be very convenient, especially as there is also a shopping center a few feet away. I didn't like having to pay $10 for parking, but at least in-and-out privileges were available. The adjacent hotel is in the process of being converted to a Crown Plaza. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Leisure-traveller44,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. I am glad to see that our property worked for your needs and was able to provide you with a comfortable stay. It is regrettable to see that our parking situation were unable to live up to your expectations. On the other hand I am glad to know that the location of our hotel as well as the staff service was able to exceed your expectations.

Once again I thank you for staying with us and look forward to providing you with service again in the future.

Warmly,

Hanithah Manickam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
34
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I used to stay here often but it has been a few years. The place is clean and fairly well located. The parking is not well done the food is average and the staff is helpful but not especially so. Will look for other properties in future

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide, as it shows us the areas which we can improve upon. Please allow us to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay, as this is not the normal experience for our property. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable, friendly accommodations and we apologize if your stay was less than satisfactory.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and give us a chance to correct your previous impression.

Warmly,

Hanithah Manickam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This review is based on a very brief stay. We (family of 4 including kids aged 13 and 11) made a stop between the drive from Washington, DC to Boston/Foxboro, MA. We arrived at 10 pm. The staff was very friendly, lobby was clean and spacious and quiet. Check in was a breeze. Happy to find a very well appointed, clean and very spacious room. It has a fridge and microwave. We had a very comfortable night stay ... and wish our hotel in Foxboro, MA would be exactly like this one. Overall, this hotel and its rooms seems bigger and more updated than most other Holiday Inn we have stayed.

The breakfast is as good as any other hotel in the similar class. The staff worked diligently to keep the food stocked. It worked well for us to have breakfast before heading to the road. We would definitely return to this hotel if we stopped at Stamford.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear bolityzo,

Thank you for providing us with such a glowing review! We use all of our guest feedback to gauge where we are exceeding expectations and where we can be making consistent improvements. It is great morale for the team to read such positive comments.

I am glad to see that the room, location, and cleanliness of the hotel was able to provide you with a wonderful stay. Our staff works exceptionally hard to provide all of our guests with a comfortable and friendly stay. We are glad that this effort had such a positive impact on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmly,

Hanithah Manickam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had a very large, comfortable, clean room with a king size bed, which was also huge and
comfortable. The hotel has valet parking which made arriving and leaving quick and easy.

This hotel is only 5 minutes from the Merritt Parkway which I was using so the location of the
hotel on Summer St. just off Long Ridge Rd. was very convenient for me. I stayed on a weekend
and got a reasonable rate ($86 a night, Friday thru Sunday nights).

I highly recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for the king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear burkewhb,

Thank you for the considerate review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that the location and amenities were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a wonderful stay. We appreciate the feedback provided, as it motivates us to constantly improve and provide our guests with world class service.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Warmly,

Hanithah Manickam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped here unexpectedly in the middle of the night when traffic scuttled our driving plans. It turned out to be a great decision. The staff was so nice and accommodating. They had a complimentary crib for the baby. The bed was extremely comfortable. The rooms and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was great--a ton of options. For healthy choices, they had plain oatmeal (in addition to flavored), Greek and regular yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, apples, and bananas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Lava120,

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our efforts to maintain the level of comfort and service that our guests have come to expect. That being said I am pleased to hear that the Express Start Breakfast was appreciated by you and the members of our party. At Holiday Inn Express we understand that a good breakfast is the best start to any day! I am also delighted to hear that our staff provided you with the service and accommodation for an excellent overall impression.

I thank you again for leaving this review, as feedback from our guests reinforces our motivation to provide our guests with an excellent stay!

Warmly,

Hanithah Manickam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The location is fine and near an excellent Thai take away.
No dinner possibilities and breakfast is poor at best. Mostly unhealthy food, no fresh bread and only bananas and apples for fruit. Fills you up though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear broset,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay and would like you to know that we are working hard to remedy those issues.

While we are a limited service hotel and do not offer dinner we are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy one of the many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The thai restaurant is a favorite among many of our guests and we are happy to see you enjoyed it too!

We would also like to inform you that we recently renovated our breakfast to include new, healthy options. We are sorry to see that you were unable to enjoy these items during your mornings and will do our best to make sure all of our guests are aware of these options.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional feedback or wish to discuss further!

Thank you again.

Warmly,

Hanithah M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon le Siyon, HaMerkaz, Israel
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

i stay there 10 days from 12jul
nice hotel big rooms nice breakfast
staff are really nice
the manger hanithah.manickam was so nice she help me with all I need
if I will need to come again to stamford only in holiday in

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear eli9648028,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly our pleasure to be in your service . And we are looking forward to your next trip ! Until then, safe travels.

Sincerely,
Hanithah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Address: 2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Stamfords Exquisite Hotel with a Convenient Downtown location - the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Stamford Conveniently located between Connecticuts Major Roadways, the Holiday Inn Express and suites offers 82 well appointed guest rooms and 16 spacious suites, featuring oversized comfortable bedding, deluxe furniture and 32 inch flat screen television offering cable with premium channels.Our hotel is comfortably located between I-95 and Merritt Parkway, just 40 minutes away from New York City, with easy access to several corporations, rail services (Metro North and Amtrak), and major airports making us a perfect location for business and leisure travel.Start your morning with our free Express Start hot breakfast or take it to go. Dont forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet from anywhere in the hotel.Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford. Experience superior service and meticulous attention to detail, paired with plush accommodations and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.