We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn to stay for a trip to NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Inn to stay for a trip to NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed there two nights and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and offer enough space. The breakfast has a great variety and the hotel itself is almost in downtown and so in a pretty good area. The train station (train to NYC 27$ round trip) is about 5 minutes by car and the hotel offers a free shuttle service from 7am until 10pm. Actually the hotel is worth 5 points but we had four negative points. Evening / Night staff isn´t very friendly or helpful. The room was very clairaudient so that we needed earplugs to sleep. Parking costs 10 $ a night. After our NYC trip we arrived at 10.03 pm at the train station and there was no flexibility that the shuttle could pick us up. But ok, it's cool that they offer a free shuttle anyway.
All in all, a good alternative for all the expensive and bad hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear ausisnova,
It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our guests. We will try even harder to satisfy everybody's needs and demands.Your opinion is going to be included in our future development planning. Hopefully, during your next stay, we will be a hundred percent successful and fully respond to your expectations.
Sincerely,
Hanithah M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
34
27
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was visiting my daughter for the first time in CT. I looked at the choice of hotels on Trip Advisor and picked Holiday Inn for the location and value. My husband and I were so pleasantly surprised at how much we got for the price. The front desk staff (all of them) were friendly and helpful. The room was large and so clean. The 2 double beds were so inviting and very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and the shower in perfect condition. It was nice to have the choice of breakfast in the morning. The choices were limited and the pancake maker wasn't working. But the Cinnamon rolls were to die for and we both found something to satisfy our appetite. We couldn't believe we could get so much for less than $100. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear ckmcjd,
We are extremely grateful for this amazing review. Thank you so much for taking time to write it. It is our greatest pleasure to get comments like this, as this is the motivation we need to keep working hard. We will continue to improve and try to make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Hanithah M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel was obviously under construction , but a little attention to detail would go a lot further.
For the nights I stayed the bath room was not cleaned. The floor in the shower was slimy Glad I brought flip flops. Water leaked from shower, notified desk person and was not addressed . Oh well I can't make them handle it. I decided to check out. No Drama.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear KM101712,

Firstly let me offer my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced in your room and for not living up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsonsfield
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on IHG priority club points on our way to NYC. Arrived around 2pm, check in was quick, although I had to return to the front desk as my keycard did not work. I was not identified as being a Priority Club member, but service was fine and quick at check in. Room was a king and was very nice. Looked to be newly renovated and very clean. Bed was comfy and had a good night's sleep. Breakfast is average at best, but suitable and filling. Only problem we had was with the valet. We chose the valet option for parking as it is only $2 more than self park. The first valet that greeted us was fabulous - very pleasant and personable - you really felt like he genuinely care about the customer. When we went out that evening for dinner, we returned around 9pm to find an empty valet stand. I went inside to the desk where someone was checking in, so I waited. I did see a gentleman in the breakfast room off the lobby on his cel phone, speaking quite loudly. I came to find out after about a five minute wait, that this was the on duty valet. When the front desk agent was done with the previous guest she called him over and he finally came out to park our car. If you are the valet, I don't think you should be on personal phone calls out of site of the front entrance. Other than this episode, our stay was very nice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived on a Friday afternoon in September, could not find the underground parking lot ( it was attached to the next door hotel ) and not labeled. Once parked, there were no signs leading us to the Holiday Inn Express so we wandered around for 10 minutes looking for someone to guide us out. At 5PM while in the shower the piercing sound of the fire alarm caused me to throw on something and leave the hotel. The fire department showed up and we were advised that a child in the attached hotel pulled the alarm. After an evening out and resting in our room, at 11:30 PM, the now familiar sound of the fire alarm sent us scurrying our onto the street with many others in various states of undress. Children in PJ's, women in nightgowns covering themselves with blankets, etc. Again, no fire or explanation. We then looked forward to the morning breakfast which was minimal at best. I waited patiently to use the new pancake machine which was inoperative when my turn came. The woman running the breakfast room said it happens all the time. The room was neat and nicely furnished, the employees seemed to try hard, but I would not stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear pejayLI,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed staying here. Central location, clean rooms that have been updated and are beautiful. Wish there was a bit more of a restaraunt/store there but there is plenty around to supplement. A big mall is just about 5 mins down the street. The buffet was nothing to write home about but it was helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a long drive from Virginia. As far as the area is concerned I wish we would have stayed at least another night to experience what Stamford has to offer. Looked like a beautiful little town.

Check in was quick however, we usually receive a little better service with being part of the IHG membership. I felt like we were kind of pushed to our rooms and maybe a little more of a burden rather than a customer. Either way, the relatively quick check in was nice.

The room was very nice. We had a very comfortable king size bed and had a great nights sleep. The breakfast the following morning was pretty good as well. They had the typical sausage and eggs, biscuits and gravy, coffee and juices. Pancake machine instead of waffle maker. Not a bad way to start out the morning I have to say. The only thing I missed was that they didn't have the french vanilla / hazelnut coffee creamers. They just had half & half, etc. Otherwise, breakfast was nice too.

The question being would we stay here again? Yes, we would if we were ever to go to Stamford again. We woke up well rested and started our day well fed. You won't be disappointed I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Address: 2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Stamfords Exquisite Hotel with a Convenient Downtown location - the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Stamford Conveniently located between Connecticuts Major Roadways, the Holiday Inn Express and suites offers 82 well appointed guest rooms and 16 spacious suites, featuring oversized comfortable bedding, deluxe furniture and 32 inch flat screen television offering cable with premium channels.Our hotel is comfortably located between I-95 and Merritt Parkway, just 40 minutes away from New York City, with easy access to several corporations, rail services (Metro North and Amtrak), and major airports making us a perfect location for business and leisure travel.Start your morning with our free Express Start hot breakfast or take it to go. Dont forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet from anywhere in the hotel.Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford. Experience superior service and meticulous attention to detail, paired with plush accommodations and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.