We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Nest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Stamford
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love Nest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We frequent this hotel during weekend get-away from kids... charming room, nice, clean and quiet...within the city of Stamford yet not far from home.....the room is complete with toiletries and extra towels, hair dryer, flat screen TV, iron, etc....sometimes we get the room overlooking the street, sometimes its on the other side of the street which I prefer devoid of street movement....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    51
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
20
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel a liitle to expansive for what you get
The inclusive breakfast was fare not good at all and were no sugar free items available
The rooms are great ,clean but on the fourth floor was very noise motor going on

Room Tip: Dont reserve a lower floor was too noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Silvio G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is pleasing to know that you found our room accommodations to be convenient for your needs. I am sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the noise levels experienced and breakfast not fully living up to expectations. We take all reviews positive or negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I knew I was going to be staying in Stamford so I checked the cost of many of the hotels. Although a little pricey, this HDI was competitive to the other hotel chains. I was impressed upon my checking in that the staff recognized my platinum club status and bumped me to a suite at no charge. The hotel and my room were very clean and laid out well. I was surprised at the $10 per night parking charge which I think should be part of the nightly stay (ridiculous). You don't have a choice to pay that fee as there is no other parking except in their parking garage. The suite had a microwave, sink and refrigerator. The free breakfast is okay. (Hey it's free) If I had to stay in Stamford again, I would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately because of the cost, I will probably work out my route to stay in another city that is not so pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stamford HI Express and also Stamford in general. The service at the front desk was top notch and like other say, the breakfast is free so it's hard to complain about the quality of it. One thing that I'll never forget about the service was the fitness center. I was in there late and didn't see what time it closed. I was in there until nearly 11:00 and on my way out I asked the cleaning lady what time the fitness center closed and she said that it closed at 10:00 but I wasn't in the way of anything so she didn't say anything to me about being in there. Now that's good service. One con about this place: the bathroom was really small!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Five_Aces_Tx,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It's truly a big motivation to hear from our guests, how thrilled they were with stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Stamford. We are pleased to see that our staff exceeded your expectations. It would be our pleasure to have you back.

Best Regards,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place was pretty good considering the price. We had a suite with a separate sleeping room with two doubles. That buffered us from the loud slamming doors and the INCREDIBLE amount of noise that travels through the doors that adjoin rooms. The free breakfast was pretty well stocked and looked after. The food was pretty crappy, but again, it's free. That said, it was one of the best free breakfasts I've seen in some time. The front desk folks were helpful and nice.

Room Tip: The suites are a nice option. Get great bagels from Sue Liz bagels not too far away. Enterprise re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

With relatives in Stamford, we have 15+ years experience staying at various area hotels (Stamford Sheraton - now Stamford Plaza Hotel, Stamford Westin - now Hilton, the Hampton Inn, and Greenwich Hyatt) and can provide extensive comparison among these properties. This is our 1st stay at the HIE and were very impressed and definitely plan to be back.
For its large suite, price, convenience, cleanliness & good staff, & complimentary amenities, this HIE is now our FIRST choice in Stamford!

I will summarize the many pros & a few cons:
1. Loc is best for us, compared to all the other hotels. We used to stay at the Sheraton (now Stamford Plaza & connected to HIE) but it's still undergoing reno to become a Crowne Plaza.
That property is tired looking, and not sure how long is the reno time frame as it's been going on for several years!
2. HIE's 1-BR suite is extremely spacious, pretty new, clean, with good contemporary furnishing and a spacious & well stocked kitchen area.
On the 3rd floor facing the 1-way street, there was traffic noise and could use better
sound-proofing windows.
3. Bathroom: large separate vanity area with plenty of counter space, & plenty of towels.
The bathroom itself was very small & space was tight.
Very small lotion bottles were hard to use.
4. Free Wi-Fi was fast & reliable.
5. Complimentary breakfast buffet was plentiful & had good variety. Helpful staff was prompt in re-stocking of items and cleanup.
Though she started to pack away food trays at 9:30am, when bkft hour is supposed to last to 10AM.
I know some reviewers did not like the all-disposable tableware, this could be improved upon.
6. All staff were courteous & helpful.
7. Complimentary shuttle to Stamford train station was great, the driver came in < 15 minutes & was also courteous.
8. Lobby coolers with complimentary bottled water & treats were a huge plus & please continue!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear fbc001,

We are so excited to hear that you had a memorable time during Christmas 2013 !!! Your gracious comments on all areas of the hotel are a continuous inspiration to our team to work harder every day.

We wish you Happy 2013 & safe Travelling.

Sincerely,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A huge hotel complex a mile out of downtown Stamford. Service was first rate, truly exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for the front desk staff. Cleanliness and housekeeping were great, the only drawback was the buffet style self service breakfast, so far so what you cry; the crockery was polystyrene and the cutlery plastic. Now I'm all for cutting costs so long as they're passed on to the customer, but really - disposable plates, coffee cups and cutlery? The coffee was served from pump thermos dispensers which also annoys me. But the beds were excellent, the shower powerful and hot and the wifi is free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Address: 2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Stamfords Exquisite Hotel with a Convenient Downtown location - the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Stamford Conveniently located between Connecticuts Major Roadways, the Holiday Inn Express and suites offers 82 well appointed guest rooms and 16 spacious suites, featuring oversized comfortable bedding, deluxe furniture and 32 inch flat screen television offering cable with premium channels.Our hotel is comfortably located between I-95 and Merritt Parkway, just 40 minutes away from New York City, with easy access to several corporations, rail services (Metro North and Amtrak), and major airports making us a perfect location for business and leisure travel.Start your morning with our free Express Start hot breakfast or take it to go. Dont forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet from anywhere in the hotel.Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford. Experience superior service and meticulous attention to detail, paired with plush accommodations and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.