We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but short on value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madonia Restaurant & Bar

Madonia Restaurant & Bar
1297 Long Ridge Road, Stamford, CT 06903
203-322-8870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 388 restaurants in Stamford
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good but short on value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We went with friends last week and had a good dinner but felt the prices were high for what they delivered. I had sea bass and my wife sole both were good not great. They were priced at $27-30 just for the entree. When you add a glass of wine, salad, and desert you're over a $110 for dinner for 2. The food is good but there are better alternatives in Stamford.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    18
    11
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tried It Twice In The Past Month & Both Times They Delivered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I had heard a lot about Madonia from friends and co-workers, and was anxious to give it a try. My wife and I were surprised we had not yet been up there to test it out since we have been to just about every other legitimate Italian restaurant or otherwise in Stamford in the 5+ years we have been living here but it's up on Long Ridge so I guess we just hadn't even really noticed it.

Right off the bat there were several things we enjoyed about our first dining experience at Madonia. The first being the location and valet parking. It's nice to not have to deal with the lot behind the bedford street places, or any of the downtown lots for that matter which while usually afford enough parking, can sometimes be a pain. You drive up to Madonia and your car is dealt with for you by friend valet guys. Other than the customary tip this service is free. Being that it is outside of town, it's quiet and offers a more cozy feel then the bustling downtown restaurants.

The inside of the restaurant is very nicely done, it's warm & inviting, feeling almost like you are dining in someone's home, but it's got a modern rustic touch to it that still let's you know you are out to dinner on a weekend night or whatever. The service is extremely friendly, and good, you can tell they are proud about the food they are serving and have a strong knowledge of the menu and wine list and can offer recommendations.

From two visits we've had: Salads, The Tuna Tartar app which was excellent, half orders of pasta (we recommend the penne with peas, proscuitto, mushrooms in a Rose sauce) it was not like other pasta's i've had before, a light cream sauce but sweet & salty at the same time. Very nice. Veal medallions and the chicken entree were also outstanding. The food was fresh and I noticed the change the menu seasonally which means they take pride in their establishment and want to use the freshest and best ingredients available at any given time a year.

The house wine's by the glass are great, and their wine list is certainly acceptable for a place of this size outside of downtown. they have some great 30/40 dollar bottles. The bar area also is very inviting and a great place to grab a drink while you are waiting.

Cafe Silvium is still tops in Stamford for italian in my opinion, but Madonia offers a great option as well, especially for those closer to 15 then 95.

Try it out!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Madonia is "hidden" just three miles outside of downtown Stamford, but is a world apart from the chain restaurants surrounding the shopping mall.

Every aspect of our dinner was outstanding - they understand how customer experiences are determined by a multiple of interactions throughout an evening and worked to ensure we were comfortably pampered, wonderfully well fed and totally charmed.

Our meals were delicious. An excellent balance of light touch and Italian classics made for a series of delightful plates, intriguing flavors and remarkably fresh ingredients.

Free stretch limo transportation? Yes. Just another thoughtful touch from a restaurant that cares about you.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Local Italian- never had a bad meal here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Great local Italian restaurant- run by the owner who is almost always there. Food never disappoints- runs great deals- like the tasting menu- $25 for 3 courses- or half priced wine on Sunday's. We eat here at least once every two weeks. It manages to be both romantic and family friendly at the same time. Outdoor patio is also nice in the summer. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“OK - But overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Have been a few times now. Athmospere is nice. Pasta dishes are too expensive. Calamari (which should be staple at an Italian rest.) was just ok and the portion way small. Service is "semi-professional".

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madonia Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Stamford, CT
Stamford, CT
 

Been to Madonia Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madonia Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.