We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Mexican, for the trendy Appletini crowd...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford

Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford
135 Bedford St, Stamford, CT 06901-1907
203-674-5652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 403 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between broad street & spring street
Transit: Minutes from Metro North train station in Stamford, CT.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not Mexican, for the trendy Appletini crowd...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is about as Mexican as Chinese food. Lola's kitchen is a mockery of Mexican food! A disgrace like what PF Changs did to Chinese food!
It is for the neon lights and trendy drinks crowd. It is a trendy pickup spot. The food would be on par for someone whose taste buds are destroyed from alcohol.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so Mexican Kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I found the food to be average, lacking the flavor of true Mexican cooking. The service was all right if a little slow and understaffed but nothing to complain about. I like rich bold flavors and this did not meet my expectations. This is our second visit and I dont think I will come back for a third. The restaurant was fairly busy for a Sunday night and it seemed like other patrons enjoyed their meals but I had better Mexican food in Stamford. Maybe it should be Lola's Am-Mexican kitchen?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Guacamole to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in Stamford! Consistently good food with a nice staff and friendly atmosphere

I've never had a bad meal, but my favorites are the chicken nachos, any of the tacos and the burrito. Everything is super fresh and the flavor really balanced. The guacamole trio is the very best though - you get regular, mango jalopeno and black bean. All three have a good balance of spice, the consistency is great and the all three really compliment each other.

Portions are huge - we normally split an appetizer and then get tacos.

The sangria is also great - lots of fruit and a really good flavor. Margaritas are also good and there's a decent beer menu

Overall if you're looking for good Mexican food this place is hands down the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

In Stamford on business and always look for a good local Mexican place - Lola's did not disappoint. The Guacamole was good - not to spicy - not to mild, the Margarita was tasty and my dinner was good. Located on a great street with other places to dine, fun environment. Would go back in ever in Stamford again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, moderate price, under rated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

An above average to good Tex Mex style restaurant. I liked it. Prices are moderate and service is good. Sit near the window to watch passers by on Bedford street. Decore is new and nice. Definitely worth trying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford also viewed

 
 

Been to Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lola's Mexican Kitchen - Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.