We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Morrocan Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fez

The Fez
227 summer street, Stamford, CT 06901
203-324-3391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 403 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A little bit of soho in Stamford, Connecticut! Eat, Drink and Relax with live music and belly dancers every Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Twilight Jazz night every Sunday.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Morrocan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We love this restuarant. The menu has recently been updated with more choices, specials and many more wines to choose from. We love the Morrocan Chicken, Lamb Shank, Strip Steak and Swordfish. The small plates and appetizers are great. Love the steak and beet salad as well. Great bands on weekends. Very friendly staff and bartender. Must make reservations on weekend or you won't get in. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This restaurant is on a street with the Courtyard by Marriott where we were staying, so we decided to try it. It was really great. My husband had the lamb shank, and I had the lamb chops. Both were really good. The wine list was reasonably priced, too. Great service. I totally recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant Offering Something Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I dined here with a friend and at just past 7pm it was already busy. A nice selection of cocktails and a simple menu to choose from - appetizers, small plates, large plates and desserts. I had the hummus from the appetizers which was great and zatar chicken - I expected a grilled version with zatar as the rub, this came in a sauce but still tasted great. My friend and I shared britwas (similar to baklava) and they were delicious :)

Service was attentive and friendly, my glass of water was always topped up and we had a good wine recommendation.

The atmosphere was enhanced by a live blues band.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good food, service rude.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We ordered roasted cauliflower, butternut squash, chicken "lolipops", and lamb chops. The food was delicious. When our dessert came, the "briwats", my friend and I each took a bite and didn't like it at all. When I asked the waiter (who I believe was the owner) if we could get something else instead, he was SO rude. He gave us a very mean and annoyed look and said "what's wrong with it?" We replied that we just didn't like it. He reluctantly brought us the rice pudding, which we also didn't like, but at that point we didn't say a word. Unfortunately, I left with a very bad taste in my mouth.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
“Very Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Excellent and imaginitive food. Great wines from a variety of countries. Chicken lolipops and lamb pita to die for. Different specials everyday. Steak and Lamb shank very well done. Entertainment daily. Well worth the trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fez also viewed

 

Been to The Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.