We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting restaurant, with an american menu and an Indian menu.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly's On The River - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shelly's On The River
26 Mill River Street, Stamford, CT 06902
203-353-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East Main Street
Description: Shelly's On the River - Restaurant, Bar & Lounge located at 26 Mill River Street in Stamford, CT overlooking the Mill River Park is a perfect escape from the city’s chaos. Chef Gabriel Brandi created a menu of simple and rustic dishes focused on fresh, local and seasonal ingredients. Shelly’s On the River is a must-visit dining destination for those looking for inspired cuisine in a comfortable setting.The Dining Room is a relaxed dining space with dimmed lighting, and vaulted ceilings, ideal for an intimate dining experience.The Bar & Lounge is a destination for meeting and socializing, the décor is jazz inspired with a classic bar atmosphere. With countertop seating or table seating the Lounge is the perfect place for a pre-dinner cocktail or casual dining.
venice, Fl
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A very interesting restaurant, with an american menu and an Indian menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We could not resist the Indian menu, the food was delicious

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, KY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Solid American and Indian restaurant in the Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This restaurant draws customers from the Stamford area, but is attached to the hotel who provides about 50% of their income. Full bar, 2 TV,s in a separate area. Can accomodate larger groups, and private dining. Typical American fare, but a very large Indian menu also. The Murg Maknhi is excellent! Prices also reasonable for its scale, and the staff and cooks are the real deal!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Excellent service and good Indian Food......we were treated very well and got great advice from staff about our trip into NYC

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad service & subpar food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I like to give restaurants the benefit of the doubt, maybe this was just a bad night, but I must be honest, I could barely eat half this meal and I was hungry enough to eat almost anything. The restaurant was empty and the service was still terrible. My meal was cold, undercooked and unappetizing and to add insult to injury, was overpriced. I left more than half on my plate, which I hope made a statement. I ended up with crackers and chips from the hotel vending machine, which were much more substantial.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great Indian Restaurant. Tamarind Sauce is to die for. They have two menus: American and Indian. Try Indian. The food is great. They need to work on the service a little. But overall experience was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelly's On The River also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly's On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.