We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright but might not stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero Degrees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero Degrees to your Saves list
Hotel Zero Degrees
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 Washington Blvd, Stamford, CT 06901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alright but might not stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location but small rooms. The YMCA is attached to hotel and guests get access but its a little ghetto and you can hear the dance classes throughout hotel. The carpet on floors is disgusting and the towel that I used after a shower had hair and dried blood on it from previous guests.


I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncstate81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear NCState81,

Thank you for your review. We do have a great location just steps away from Downtown Stamford which offers a plethora of restaurants and bars, the Metro North Train station and the mall. I apologize for your stay not being what you hoped for.The YMCA is attached and while they do have conduct dance classes the sound does not transfer throughout the hotel. We are however, in the process of selecting new hallway carpets which will be installed shortly. I encourage all guests to always bring any problems they may encounter to our attention therefore giving us the opportunity to take the necessary actions to correct it and hopefully ensure a seamless stay. With regards to the towel (which you only noticed after you used it) is by no means our standard as stained towels/linens are always discarded. Nevertheless I will share with our Housekeeping department to ensure they are even more vigilant.

Regards,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stamford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had to stay here because we lost power. It was the only hotel with availability. The rooms are small, which is fine, but the TV did not work correctly. More than anything the service is really subpar. The staff is just not competent or perhaps just need some training on simple things like answering phones and listening to a customers. They're just not the sharpest tools in the shed. The heater/air conditioner was very loud and unpredictable (the settings do not work properly). But like I said, if you are in a bind and need a place to stay, it's guess it's fine. It's clean!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proottravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Proottravels,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. My apologies if you found that the level of service was not to your standards. We place great emphasis on guest service as is noted in many of our Tripadvisor posts and take every opportunity to improve it where we can. I will definitely share this with the team to ensure everyone is consistently as sharp as they need to be. I am happy you found our rooms to be clean and more importantly that we were able to accommodate you in the wake of the Hurricane Sandy as it truly was a busy time for us all. Whether it be for business, leisure or in a bind we are always happy to extend our hospitality.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a very new looking hotel with everything modern, clean and sparkling. It is near I-95. Free parking is underneath. Commuter rail to NYC is nearby. A number of restaurants are on the same block. The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds. Security is enhanced by requiring a room key to operate the elevator. But what really stands out is the free, full breakfast consisting of two kinds of scrambled eggs, home fries, hash browns, bacon, sausages, bagels, toast, danishes, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, teas, juice, etc. etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Smokelinks,

I cannot thank you enough for this wonderful review. You pretty much summed it all up! Our complimentary breakfast is definitely the best way to start your day at Hotel Zero Degrees. Our convenient location, comfortable rooms and modern décor make it the ideal choice for stay in Stamford. I am thrilled we were able to meet your expectations on all counts and certainly hope to welcome you in the very near future. Again many thanks and safe travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton,Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was beautiful and reasonably priced. They offer complimentary breakfast and local transportation. The staff was pleasant and helpful. It is located within walking distance of quite a few restaurants and the train station. We enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Brenda F,

Thank you for posting such wonderful review about us not to mention you did such a good job with the photos you took. I am pleased to know we provided a very comfortable stay for you from our complimentary warm buffet breakfast, local shuttle, friendly staff and central location. Should your adventures bring you back to Stamford we look forward to welcoming you once more.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is walking to distance to the train station. Rooms were modern, nice lobby and plenty of restaurants were nearby in an area called Columbus Park. I took car service back to JFK for less than $100. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravel-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Biztravel-CO,

I appreciate you posting this review about us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location and modern décor. Should you travels bring you back to Stamford we hope to have you stay with us once more. Thank you and safe travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is super convenient and has all of the requisites for a fantastic stay in Stamford. The only negative is the parking situation--if the hotel is packed, then you'll have to improvise a parking space. Because other people also tend to do this, getting out of the garage can be a challenge, as other cars have also improvised spots. Other than that, a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JJH,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this review about us. I am elated to know we were able to meet your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. My apologies for the limited parking – there is additional secured parking at the Bell St. Garage which is located directly behind the hotel and the Front Desk is always happy to assist our guests. Again many thanks for your review and safe travels.

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor the night we stayed there. It is a very nice boutique hotel. Customer service is excellent. They even gave us menus for food delivery in the area with recommendations. Our room was clean. I was most impressed with the bathroom. They even serve a full breakfast each morning and it's "free." Will definitely stay here the next time we visit New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoniej74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Simpson, Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Shoniej74,

Thank you for the great review and I am thrilled to know you first heard about us on TripAdvisor. Outstanding service is at the heart of it all and we strive to hit the mark with each of our guests. Our complimentary warm buffet breakfast is a welcomed perk and we are a great affordable alternative to accommodations in New York. Not to mention the train station is a short ride away in our shuttle. We hope to see you again in the near future. Until then, safe travels!

Warmly,
Tim Simpson
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
8.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#1 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
8.9 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 13 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero Degrees

Address: 909 Washington Blvd, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zero Degrees 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zero Degrees, located in Downtown Stamford CT, is a boutique hotel where style and comfort collide to form the perfect blend of sophistication and revitalization. The perfect destination conveniently located near the business community, yet steps away from the best dining and entertainment in Stamford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zero Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing