We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Stamford

Crowne Plaza Stamford
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Stamford to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Stamford
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905 (Formerly Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
1 review
“Convention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was a great location for the convention we had this weekend. The rooms are all amazing. The staff from the hotel was so nice to everyone and assisted in preparation for the families. The hotel has made great progress over the years.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield, ri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took the kids to the Bronx Zoo and wanted a place close to the zoo but on our way to stay the night. We really wanted a pool as well, so the kids could really enjoy their stay. We loved our night at the Crowne Plaza. The front desk attendant was so welcoming and made checking in seamless. I chatted a little bit with her about plans for dinner, and she readily provided the address and directions. The location was close to so many stores/conveniences. Valet parking was affordable and so convenient. The room was beyond expectations - roomy, clean, and very comfortable! My 13 year old loved the contemporary design. My 8 year old thought it was awesome. My 9 year old loved everything about it. The bathroom was impeccably clean and new. All of the staff was accommodating - just what you truly appreciate when you're away, even if it's just for one night! We are already planning on staying again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

During this past horrid winter the family needed a quick break! We packed up the kids and drove over to the Crowne Plaza on a Saturday evening(40 minutes away). Kids enjoyed the "vacation sorta" staying up late and waking up late. Went swimming and because there was an ice storm going on outside and I-95 was shut down for a while, they just let us hang out in the rooms till the afternoon.
Just what was needed for a fast break.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip. Just three words - Awesome customer service! Front desk staff were very helpful with directions and recommendations - particularly Lilli with her great sense of humor. Thank you Lilli for all your help. The hotel has a free shuttle service to drop guests to the downtown area. I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip here.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Between the parking nightmare, and the fact that the hotel is under renovation, you should stay away from this property until things settle down.

Using the "automated parking system" is a joke because like clock work I found myself back at the front desk having the clerk override it.

The hotel just came under the IHG flag as both a Crowne Plaza and a Holiday Inn Express. I can't speak for the Holiday in Express side, but the room I was in while considered a suite was nothing more than a very oversized guest room. Additionally it had an odor from not being opened and used.

If you are considering this property, I would call before you book and see if the renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Check to see if the hotel is still under renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Stamford, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Seth B,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay was negatively impacted by the ongoing renovations. We are working hard to improve our product and would love to welcome you back in the near future to show what we have done.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The former Sheraton turned Stamford Plaza is now a Crowne Plaza. Redone and comfortable but weird in that attached by a hallway is a Holiday Inn Express. I got an intro price at the Crowne Plaza that was less than the HIE but next time around, I'll stay at the HIE which will likely be cheaper plus you get a refrig, Microwave and free breakfast. Rooms in both are equal otherwise. If you stay at CP, be sure to get a room near the elevator otherwise you can walk for miles. Parking is a bit weird but you get used to it.

Room Tip: close to elevator as noted. If you get a good view there's not much to see anyway. LOL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I hosted an event for about 50 people at the Crowne Plaza. We stayed for 3 nights, and held daily activities in the function rooms. The event staff was wonderful, and very receptive to feedback. They delivered on everything that we asked, and more. The food was great, and the accomodations were modern and very nice. Overall, we had a fantastic experience, and will certainly hold future events there!!

Room Tip: 5th floor suites are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stamford

Address: 2701 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905 (Formerly Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Stamford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Leader among Hotels in Connecticut's Gold Coast Fresh from a multi million dollar renovation, the Crowne Plaza Stamford, boasts 355 guest rooms including 10 spacious suites and over 30,000 sq ft of meeting space. We are The Place to Meet due to our proximity to several major corporations, highways, airports, Metro-North and Amtrak rail service. Crowne Plaza Stamford is perfectly suited for leisure and business travel featuring well-appointed new furnishings, comfortable beds, flat panel TV, free WiFi access and complimentary downtown shuttle service. With capacity for over 1600 guests, Crowne Plaza Stamford is ideal for hosting all types of events, ranging from casual meetings to full-fledged conferences and gala social events. Guests are assured a pleasant night's rest with our Sleep Advantage Program - a holistic approach to better night's sleep that includes comfortable new beds, Quiet Zones, sleep amenities and guaranteed wake up call. We are conveniently located 30 miles from New York City. On-site, we have Enterprise Car Rental, ATM, restaurant & bar. We offer large, spacious guest rooms featuring 37 inch flat screen plasma televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.