We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in Progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Work in Progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ths property is being converted into two hotels, Holiday Inn Express and Crown Plaza.


As this is suppose to be a business travler hotel, they miss the mark a few areas.

If you have shuttle service to the train station it needs to start at 6:00 not 7:00, like wise the complimentry coffee and donuts should be earlier than 6:30.

the plus is they have the exercise room open 24/7

I found the staff as accomodating as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    26
    23
    28
See reviews for
34
12
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was supposed to stay here yesterday but thank the Lord that I found the sheraton at stamford because I was truly disgusted and shocked to walk into a hotel that looked like it was being demolished. Its an ugly property, the staff is clueless, and I was scared of both the neighborhood and the room. I don't care how much cheaper it was, I will never stay in a place that is currently being renovated and looks like a college lobby during registration. They don't even have a counter (just free standing pcs wth). Anyway, stay at the sheraton stamford instead because for $120 per night, we got a beautiful room with breakfast buffet and a friendly and wonderful staff close to everything including the hospital and safety. stay away far away from the stamford plaza crowne plaza or whatever it is cheap motel looking place.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is missing the mark as far as building repeat customers. It is a work in progress and there is no progress. The staff has no direction, focus or customer service skills. SOME were just rude. The few that were really trying need training. The lobby was a mine field of food garbage and stained carpet.
On the positive side the rooms were nice, clean and well kept. The only way I would return would be out of dire necessity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we came here with a group for the weekend. we enjoyed our stay but the staff were not that nice particularly 1 staff member that was repeatedly being nasty to our group. The rooms were ok but the view was not. We had a lobby view but there wasn't much of a choice as all the rooms were either facing the lobby or the parking garage so that wasn't very pleasant. Also we had to pay $10 for parking would not realy recommend this hotel but its ok for a nite or 2

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for several years now since we moved from the Stamford area. This hotel happens to be convenient to family. But, It has really gone down hill. They have been in the process of switching over to a Crown Plaza for two years now. The rooms have been updated but the lobby looks like it has been through World War II.

The rooms have no blow dryers, hangers or ironing board. We stayed for 9 days and asked many times for these things but they never followed through. The people at the front desk are comatose. I've never experienced anything like it. They respond like they want to help but nothing gets done. I think this place is run by aliens.

When the weekend arrives a religious group invades. About a hundred people converge and the hotel is dominated by them and their children. They occupy the lobby and their children run rampant. I've never seen anything like it.

I'm sorry, I forgot to mention the rat I encountered on the way out of the hotel. I will never stay at this hotel again!

If you want a room to stay in without service or a pulse to communicate with this may be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel had been a Sheraton and is about to become a Crowne Plaza, according to publicity notices in the lobby. Right now, it seems that they are simply keeping it running at the lowest possible staffing level. The rooms have clearly been redone recently and they're very nice and clean. But, the lobby is a mess and it's dirty. And on the night we stayed, management allowed unsupervised children to run around in the lobby area (apparently as part of a conference that tailored to families, creating a "camp" atmosphere, including slides and riding toys). There was just one person at the reception desk when we arrived, and the desk itself was hard to find. On the positive side, the receptionist changed our room per our request to one far from the elevators and on the outside of the building. The lobby is an atrium to the fifth floor and the noise reverberates quite well. Since we had an outside room, I cannot say if the rooms overlooking the lobby are quiet, but I doubt it. I would avoid this property until it transitions to a Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Select an outside-facing room so that a hallway exists between the room and the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is a piece of garbage. I cannot believe they are in business. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE. Pool is filthy, the water has a greenish hue. The gym is an old dated nightmare with equipment ready to attack you at any given moment. The girl who checked me in looked like a ruined her day by wanting to give the hotel my business. My reservation was not there. It took forever to find it with no sympathy or apology for the inconvenience. Maybe she ate the horrific bar food and was constipated. She sure looked it. Honey, crack a smile. YOU WORK AT A HOTEL FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!! The room floors were sticky. The room was dirty and smelled like month old rotten eggs as did the elevator. The list can go on and on and on but I refuse to give this disaster of a hotel any more thought.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2701 Summer Street, Stamford, CT 06905
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 448 Luxurious guest rooms, Stamford Plaza’s recreation facilities provide the perfect wind down to a fulfilling day with a heated indoor pool and a full service health club. Casual dining is available at our Terrace Restaurant and guests are welcome to enjoy a light menu or cocktails in the relaxed atmosphere of our Gazebo Lounge. Easy access to both I-95 and Merritt Parkway and just 45 minutes away from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.