We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Motel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Stamford

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Stamford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Stamford
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1209 East Main Street, Stamford, CT 06902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bates Motel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel because of how close it was to NY and frankly, not my first choice. The other person i shared the room with had a cigarette burn in his mattress and my pillow case had major stains on it. Seedy motel in a ok area of Stamford.

Room Tip: pray you don't get a room close to the intersection because in the morning during the work week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    5
    18
See reviews for
7
6
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First, I want to apologize for any negative thing I have ever written about any other hotel or motel,
because this place has set a new low standard by which all other places seem like paradise.
We had to go to Stamford, CT as an emergency and booked this hotel simply based on its closeness to our destination. We arrived at night in a terrible traffic jam, so looking for other options was impossible because we had driven many hours and were too exhausted to look
elsewhere. Had we seen this place in the light of day we would have found a way to sleep
anywhere else ! First, the man checking us in was openly hostile and purposely unhelpful.
He is very different from the people who run the place during the day, because they were very
nice and may have been the owners. So, I ask the night desk clerk if we could have 2 beds
because it is my adult son and myself. He says no at first, then yes and throws a key at us in
a very disgruntled way that makes it clear he is done with us. We walk like 10 minutes and finally get to our room which only has 1 King bed, but we are too tired to go back and deal with this
man again. We look around and are totally grossed out by what we find. There are sticky stains
and what I hope was food smeared everywhere, on every surface and what looked like smeared
grisly remains on both doors with hand prints in what looked like dried blood. Had someone been
murdered in here and no one cleaned up ? The blanket on the bed was threadbare with many cigarette burns in it. The table top and bedside tables are also covered in thick sticky stains, as are
The tub, the sink, and the walls !!! My son is already asleep, sick from too many hours of driving, so I try to sleep, but imagine what if there are bedbugs ??? It was awful. I never took my socks off
and wore my shoes every time I had to walk anywhere. Everything in the room is old and worn out.
There are no tissues, only toilet paper. This is really austere and filthy accommodations- I have never experienced this level of terrible before and it was enlightening. The worst part ? The room
cost $99.00 during midweek and we were only there for about 10 long miserable hours ! Now,
where I come from, you can stay in a very nice hotel for $99.00 midweek. This was very old and
falling apart everywhere. In the morning, I walked to the office to get the free breakfast, which had
no beverage except a warm jug of apple juice and warm milk and some incredibly stale bagels
and cereal- as awful as the room. I tried to work the orange juice machine and was told it was
broken. I went out to the vending machine, and had to pay $2.00 for a small bottle of Pepsi.
While outside I noticed a large hole alongside the office, and realized this rusty gaping eyesore
was at one time a pool, but is now another disgusting mess. Some of the people lurking outside
the rooms the night before we're screaming in other languages and the sounds of the constant
heavy truck traffic a few feet from the rooms makes for very noisy and poor sleeping conditions.
(not that you could sleep easy here with the horrifying mess of the room !). I admit I did not have time to read reviews or I would have been warned off from this "America's Best". All I can say is
that if this is "America's BEST", I would hate to see it's worst ! Stay away ! There are many
nice hotels very near-by that cost the same and are far nicer, just make sure you check TripAdvisor first like I should have ! When asked where we stayed in Stamford, people said
"You stayed THERE ?" in horror. Yes, I will always check TripAdvisor from now on, no matter
how big the emergency. We learned the hard way.

Room Tip: Never stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

All of the reviews saying how horrible this place is are 100% accurate. We stayed here due to the fact that Interstate 95 was backed up for miles, and we were exhausted after driving all day. Yes as someone said before, the glass separating me and the desk person should have been a tip off. In the room there was a stench. In the morning, I dropped something on the floor, and it rolled under the bed. Went to get it, and under the bed was filled with old socks and boxes and other generally unclean things. Eww. Bathroom was dirty as well. Just cant say enough about how bad this place is.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arrived at this hotel alone via taxi after 16 hours of international travel 4th of July weekend. Thursday July 5, 2012. Checked in around 11:30 p.m. was in bed sleeping by 12 midnight. By 2:00 a.m. I was awoken by a burning sensation on the right side of my chest. When I pulled back the covers and checked the sheets, there it was a BED BUG! I immediately brought the bed bug (dead by this time after I squashed it) and showed it to the night manager. He refunded me right away but was extremely rude about it initially. He also denied knowing anything about the hotel having bed bugs (please read the previous post regarding a different guest and bed bugs). Long story short he eventually, after about 2 hours of my waiting in the lobby (trying to figure out my next course of action considering the late hour and uncertainty of finding a hotel in close proximity with available rooms), he offered me a different room at no cost which I took but DID NOT dare sleep in that bed. I actually slept in the chair in the room, after nursing the multiple bite marks now welting all over my body as a result of the bed bug bites and counted the 6 hours till daylight at which time I immediately left this deplorable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Every bad thing you read about this play is true, but multiply it by 10. OMG, this play should be condemned. Dirty, chunks of soap in the tub draip, pubic hairs in the shower, stains on the bathroom walls. Furniture was old and scratched. Carpet was gross, had an oder. We slept on top of the covers, didnt dare to sleep uner them. As we were walking to our room there was a guy next to us that had a large Rambo type knife sitting on the A\C outside the room. We went into our room and closed the door and put a chair up against the door. We slept with one eye open. It was a long night to say the least. Avoid this place at all cost..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

i stay there in march 2 for one night and one off the bed had bed bugs that all i need to say

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMALSAD, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although we wish it was that you were satisfied with our property.We want to respond to your comment. We checked the room you claimed had bed bugs and we did not see any sign of them. We take bed bugs seriously in our hotel and if we saw signs of them, we would address and correct it immediately. We take all preventative measures to prevent them. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience and do wish you would have contacted the front desk if you did not feel comfortable in your room. We are proud of our property and wish you would have had an enjoyable stay with us. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff is looking over our property all of the time to make this a positive experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Stamford

Address: 1209 East Main Street, Stamford, CT 06902
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Stamford 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is conveniently located off of I-95N Exit 9, in the beautiful shoreline city of Stamford, Connecticut. Our hotel is within minutes of the area's most popular attractions including Stamford Town Center Mall, Landmark Square Cinema, Lockwood Mansion, Island Beach, Bartlett Aboretum, University of Connecticut Stamford, Dolce Convention Center, and Stamford Museum and Nature Center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site restaurant "Exit 9 Cafe" or visit one of the restaurants within a mile of our hotel including Subway, Smokey Joe's BBQ, Brasitas Restaurant, Villa Italia Ristorante, and Giovanni's Serious Steak House. Our 24-hour staff is here to make our pet friendly hotel your home away from home. Guests are treated to free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily continental breakfast, free local calls, free parking, use of our on-site business center, Rooms feature a radio, desk with lamp, alarm clock, satellite/cable TV, in-room safe, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Stamford Hotel Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.